I had this situation come up in a game;
Darth Vader, equipped with Marksmanship and Cluster Missiles starts the turn with a Target Lock on an opponent's X-Wing;
After movement is completed, Darth Vader has the X-Wing with the Target Lock in his front fire arc, in range of the cluster missiles.
For Darth Vader's 2 actions, can he create 2 instances of Marksmanship, with the intent of creating potentially 2 critical hits in total, if at least two "focus" results come up on the die rolls?
Sample die roll using Cluster Missiles and 2 uses of Marksmanship;
First attack;
Critical Hit, Focus, Blank
Second Attack;
Hit, Focus, Focus
Are both uses of Marksmanship resolving simultaneously in the attack phase, thereby allowing two of those focus results to be converted into critical hits, thus creating a new dice spread of 3 Critical Hits, 2 Hits and a Blank?
Alternatively, would the fact that both instances of Marksmanship still require other Focus results to convert to hits cancel each other out and create a dice spread of 2 Critical Hits, 3 Hits and a Blank?
I was digging through the rules to find some mention of using the same Elite Talent card twice, but I guess since this scenario is unique to Darth Vader, there isn't any mention of it.
Usually when we hit a bump in the road like this, we try and look at what the spirit of the game would be. In this case, our reasoning is that 3 Critical Hits is the way to go, because it's Darth Vader, Galactic Badass using Marksmanship, so he's that much more accurate, combined with Cluster MIssiles, which blow up in a nice ball of death around the target, making hitting your prey even easier.
Granted, from a gameplay perspective, it seems kind of cheap, but it's balanced by the fact that the Cluster Missiles are a one-use item.
Actually, that just made me think, Cluster Missiles or no, can Vader use Marksmanship twice as his 2 actions and make 2 Focus icons convert to Critical Hits?