Exhaust a weapon?

By TheDisturbed1, in Rules questions & answers

'Goblin-cleaver' and I think one other card that I cant find the name of, both of which I think are from the Hobbit set, say to exhaust a weapon in order to use the card's effects. I tried looking up another reference to exhausting a weapon in the rulebook, but cannot find any other reference to it. So what is the purpose of doing this? The only thing I can come up with is that it either 1)means you just have to have a weapon on the character who is going to use the actual card, or 2) means the character with the weapon wont get to use the weapon in their attack phase since the weapon has been exhausted.

Any ideas?

TheDisturbed1 said:

'Goblin-cleaver' and I think one other card that I cant find the name of, both of which I think are from the Hobbit set, say to exhaust a weapon in order to use the card's effects. I tried looking up another reference to exhausting a weapon in the rulebook, but cannot find any other reference to it. So what is the purpose of doing this? The only thing I can come up with is that it either 1)means you just have to have a weapon on the character who is going to use the actual card, or 2) means the character with the weapon wont get to use the weapon in their attack phase since the weapon has been exhausted.

Any ideas?

The other card is Foe-Hammer.

The mecanic of this two attachment is the same of, for instance, Steward of Gondor. You just exhaust it to be able to use one of those effects.

I believe you can use the exhausted card text, although it is exhausted

So, you need:

To use Foe-Hammer, that the caracter that attacks and kill an enemy have an weapon attached, so you can be able to use the ability of that card, which is draw 3 cards.

To use Goblin-Cleaver, it's only needed that there is a weapon attached to a hero to be able to do 2 (or 3) damage on an enemy engaged with you.

Those cards should have been given extra effects if Glamdring or Orcrist were the weapon exhausted.

Nyarlathotep5150 said:

Those cards should have been given extra effects if Glamdring or Orcrist were the weapon exhausted.

That could make those cards too much powerfull. Their are already powerfull (draw 3 cards or give 2 or 3 damage to an enemy engaged).

Despite that, those cards where made to use primarily with Glamdring or Orcrist, since they came in the Hobbit expansion, nut they can be used with Blade of Gondolin or Dwarven Axe…

It's like Glorfindel (spirit), Light of Valinor and Asfaloth, that is an very very powerfull combo.

It would unbalance the game when those cards where in play…

Foe-Hammer reads: "Response: After a hero you control attacks and destroys an enemy, exhaust a Weapon card attached to that hero to draw 3 cards. "

Goblin-Cleaver reads: "Combat Action: Exhaust a Weapon card attached to a hero you control to choose an enemy engaged with you. Deal 2 damage to that enemy. (Deal 3 damage instead if the enemy is an Orc.) "

Since they are both event cards, they dont stay in play like Steward of Gondor, if that is what you are saying.

So is the point of exhausting the weapon so you couldnt use multiples of the cards on the same weapon on the same turn? If I exhaust the weapon with Goblin-Cleaver before the attack, do I still get it's benefit when I have the character wielding it attack?

TheDisturbed1 said:

Foe-Hammer reads: "Response: After a hero you control attacks and destroys an enemy, exhaust a Weapon card attached to that hero to draw 3 cards. "

Goblin-Cleaver reads: "Combat Action: Exhaust a Weapon card attached to a hero you control to choose an enemy engaged with you. Deal 2 damage to that enemy. (Deal 3 damage instead if the enemy is an Orc.) "

Since they are both event cards, they dont stay in play like Steward of Gondor, if that is what you are saying.

So is the point of exhausting the weapon so you couldnt use multiples of the cards on the same weapon on the same turn? If I exhaust the weapon with Goblin-Cleaver before the attack, do I still get it's benefit when I have the character wielding it attack?

The point is, IMO, in fact prevent that you use multiple times on the same weapon and turn. So if you exhaust to Goblin-Cleaver, you couldn't exhaust it to use on Foe-Hammer ir you kill the enemy.

Despite all of this, i believe you "still get it's benefit when I have the character wielding it attack".

I do not see anything in the rules that limits the effect of weapon attachments just by the fact that they are exhausted. Please someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Awesome, thanks for the help!

CJMatos said:

It's like Glorfindel (spirit), Light of Valinor and Asfaloth, that is an very very powerfull combo.

That was actually why I pointed it out. Glorfindel and Asfaloth make a powerful combo because Asfaloth is Glorfindels' horse. Just like Glamdring is the Foe Hammer and Orcrist is the Goblin-Cleaver.

i think its more that those attatchments are one off treasure cards making the events very situational if they were given buffs by them

rich