Cluster Missles

By childresspta, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Attack (TARGET LOCK): Spend your target lock and discard this card to perform this attack twice ?

So can I not discard and only perform it once?

No. Those are the requirements to use the weapon. It just so happens that you get two attacks.

Have been waiting 3 or more weeks now for Fantasy Flight to come back to me on that very question, it does read that way to me, if so it is awesome as just maintain your lock and keep getting the extra attack dice at range 2+ over standard shooting

You can choose to not spend the target lock and discard the card… but then you don't get to perform the attack at all. Otherwise it would have to say something along the lines of "Spend a target lock and discard this card to perform this attack an extra time."

childresspta said:

Attack (TARGET LOCK): Spend your target lock and discard this card to perform this attack twice ?

So can I not discard and only perform it once?

The card text is a specific direction which must be completely followed. Why would you assume you can follow one part of the card text and conveniently ignore the other?

[Attack (TARGET LOCK): Spend your target lock and discard this card to perform this attack twice]

The ENTIRE sentence between the brackets is one package deal (and for that matter the red number of dice and the range numbers on the card too).

1 You must USE this attack

2 you must HAVE a target lock

3 you must SPEND the target lock

3 you must DISCARD this card

4 you must PERFORM this attack twice

All or nothing.

Caps for emphasis on the command (verbs) given by the card.

Daveydavedave said:

4 you must PERFORM this attack twice

This is not always true. If the first attack destroys the target then you don't get a 2nd attack. Minor detail… otherwise yes, using cluster missiles requires taking both attacks.

dbmeboy said:

Daveydavedave said:

4 you must PERFORM this attack twice

This is not always true. If the first attack destroys the target then you don't get a 2nd attack. Minor detail… otherwise yes, using cluster missiles requires taking both attacks.

Yes. There is only one way out: death!

Do you think you have to do both attacks against the same ship? So, if you destroy one ship with the first attack maybe you ca attack another. I'm guessing no, but it is not explicit.

You are attacking the target locked ship. Since you cant have 2 target locks, you can't shoot at 2 different targets.

Also you can only attack one ship per round, unless there is an explicit counter to that rule on an upgrade card.

To be sure I am interpreting this correct. Performing the attack twice does allow the defender to roll their agility twice, once for each attack?

Yes, two seperate attacks and defense rolls.

Could you not roll for the first attack and if it mises then use gunner or luke to shoot at a different target therefore not needing to use the second attack. why dont you want to use the second missile attack? there are other missiles available that only attack once.

Daveydavedave said:

You are attacking the target locked ship. Since you cant have 2 target locks, you can't shoot at 2 different targets.

And with the weapons engineer in wave 2, we now have a way to have dual target locks…

Simple english,

Fisrt off these are cluster(a bunch released at the same time) missiles, which explains why you reroll twice. Higher hit percentage.

That's why you roll twice and add the total hits. This is the way this card works.

You discard target tokens for the simple fact that you need a target lock to perform this action. You cant perform this attack without it.

I would like to know where it says the defender can roll twice as well?

This is like a long range shotgun shot to me.

thats how i see it

Soulfly626 said:

Simple english,

Fisrt off these are cluster(a bunch released at the same time) missiles, which explains why you reroll twice. Higher hit percentage.

That's why you roll twice and add the total hits. This is the way this card works.

You discard target tokens for the simple fact that you need a target lock to perform this action. You cant perform this attack without it.

I would like to know where it says the defender can roll twice as well?

This is like a long range shotgun shot to me.

thats how i see it

You really think the card works by giving you essentially a 6 dice (3 dice x 2) attack against 1 defense roll? That is not at all how the card works.

You simply attack twice, follow all the rules for attacking. Including two seperate attack and defense rolls. Done 1 at a time.