Can you use a clue token to re roll to see if you lose a curse?

By Food Eater Lad, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

My friend used a clue token to re roll to see if he could shed his cursed card. We allowed it, but reserved the right to nay say it in the future. I think its a foul, but I went with the group. So what is the call on this this?

My vote would say it's technically illegal, as the rules specifically state:

"A player may spend Clue tokens, one at a time, after any skill check (failed or not)."

As it specifies a skill check, the roll to remove a curse isn't attributed to any skill, per se , and therefore, probably wouldn't be applicable.

But darn it if I don't think that's a fun idea, and want to see if the kids I play with wouldn't want to house rule it into existance. lengua.gif

John Bua said:

My friend used a clue token to re roll to see if he could shed his cursed card. We allowed it, but reserved the right to nay say it in the future. I think its a foul, but I went with the group. So what is the call on this this?

Like Nun said, it's not legal by the rules. Clues are only for skill checks. There are quite a few instances when you are called to roll dice, without that being a skill check, so allowing it will have a significant impact on the game.

It is illegal. Clue tokens only ADD to skill checks. They don't let you re-roll anything. This is significant cause if I use 3 clue tokens on a check and then get a re-roll from Mandy (the researcher) I re-roll all the extra die I "bought" using clue tokens.

Curse/Blessing/Retainer rolls are not skill checks so you cannot add die to them.

I thought it was illegal, I just wanted some back up. Thanks guys.