AidenDouglass said:
Here's another perspective…
You say "I perform the Action : Expert Handling , which allows me to do two barrel rolls…"
but, do you say "I perform the Action : Swarm Tactics which allows me to improve another pilot's skill"
If you DO say Swarm Tactics is an "Action", then you have just used up your Action for that round, yes?
But, wait. Swarm Tactics doesn't say
Action:
, so it doesn't cost an Action step to perform.
Do you say I Perform
Action : R2-D2,
so after executing this green maneuver, I may recover 1 shield"?
NOPE! it just says "Do this : Get this" R2 is an
Upgrade
.
These are Upgrade cards, not Action cards. Some Upgrade cards allow you to perform Actions , others don't. That's why they say " Action: do something "
So, the Action you are permitted to perform is Action : barrel roll , which -since you are so awesome that you can be referred to as having "Expert Handling" abilities, causes your enemy to lose their target lock on you. You're just that skilled a pilot.
If you are in a Tie fighter, you have lost a Target Lock, but the barrel roll wasn't especially difficult as your ship is designed to do them, your wing mates do them all the time, but you can do it with such Expert Handling, that you can actually cause a computer to lose it's Target Lock on you, whereas they remain target locked even if they do perform barrel rolls.
Now, if you're in an X-Wing, you're an even more skilled pilot, because your ship isn't designed to do that maneuver, thus you take some stress from actually being Expert enough with your Handling of this star fighter that you can make it do a barrel roll, while your wing mates are unable to even execute that maneuver. You lose your Target Lock also, but at the cost of taking some stress.
So, Upgrades are not Actions . Some upgrades permit you to perform Actions .
And Since Darth Vader is allowed to perform 2 Actions, He can perform one Action: barrel roll, and some other action. If he has Expert Handling, then he will lose a target lock by performing a barrel roll at any time. But he cannot perform 2 consecutive barrel rolls, as the rulebook clearly states that "a ship cannot perform the same action more than once "
This is well thought out and almost convinced me to switch positions. However as the poster below you said, it ambiguous enough that we need FFG to clarify what they exactly meant.
I'd say that if your expert at handling why couldn't you perform the standard Barrel roll and an Expert Handling Barrel Roll also, since they are not "Exactly" the same action.