Ride to Ruin question

By Redblock, in Rules questions & answers

Raid to ruin says "discard rohan ally", question is you discard from hand or from play?

unless a card says 'from your hand' its always from play

rich

I also have a question about Ride To Ruin. If I Exhaust and discard 'The Riddermarks Finest' to place two progress tokens on any location, can I then play 'Ride To Ruin' as the card is being discarded and place an extra 3 tokens on the location?

Also could I in the same way discard 'Westfold Horse-Breaker' to ready a hero and then play 'Ride To Ruin' as the card is being discarded to place 3 progress tokens on a location?

Another thought... would I need to play Ride To Ruin before or after triggering either Westfold Horse-Breaker or The Riddermark's Finest in order for it to work?

I also have a question about Ride To Ruin. If I Exhaust and discard 'The Riddermarks Finest' to place two progress tokens on any location, can I then play 'Ride To Ruin' as the card is being discarded and place an extra 3 tokens on the location?

Also could I in the same way discard 'Westfold Horse-Breaker' to ready a hero and then play 'Ride To Ruin' as the card is being discarded to place 3 progress tokens on a location?

NO

Hmm short and to the point muemakan... I can see with the exhausting bit on The Riddermark's Finest that that might exclude it from use on Ride To Ruin.

However could one not argue the case for Westfold Horse Breaker? If I played Ride To Ruin first, then discarded Westfold Horse Breaker (who would happen to ready a hero at the same time) then put 3 progress tokens on a location from the Ride to Ruin event?

i think if the card said 'response' instead of 'action' it would be different. this reminds me of the recent strength of will argument that i didnt particularly follow properly, maybe someone else can help on that one

rich

Right I see your point. Thanks for the feedback. The timing in this game can be rather confusing...

You cannot use a discarded card for any other purpose than what it is originally discarded to pay for.