Question on adventure cards which allows you to take objects from other characters

By Persiatic, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi, I just wanted to hear the oppinion of the experts:

If you from a adventure card are instructed to take an object from another character will that allow you to take concealed push and the other one which contains 4 objects?

Since the instructions on the pouches only say that you can't take these with special abilities, spells and as reward. So basically are you allowed to take the pouches and everything in it trough these adventure cards?

regards

Yes, taking Concealed Pouch, or even better, Bag of Carrying by killing Trickster is awesome (assuming I'm the one who did the killing). Note that you can also destroy CP or BoC with Shatter or move them via Gust of Winds as those aren't taking the card either.

Another tactic is to use Destroy Magic so that the player is forced to leave his surplus items :)

frogemoth said:

Another tactic is to use Destroy Magic so that the player is forced to leave his surplus items :)

aplauso.gif

*yoink*

Thanks Dam it was as I supected, but I let it pass 2 nights ago when we played and my friend started complaining heavily. (Well I understand his complain having Solomons Crown, Magic wand and Shield of Defience in the bag).

frogemoth said:

Another tactic is to use Destroy Magic so that the player is forced to leave his surplus items :)

How do you mean by this? Doesn't Destroy magic only prohibit everyone to use spells and magic objects for 1 turn?

Persiatic said:

frogemoth said:

Another tactic is to use Destroy Magic so that the player is forced to leave his surplus items :)

How do you mean by this? Doesn't Destroy magic only prohibit everyone to use spells and magic objects for 1 turn?

Concealed Pouch and Bag of Holding/Carrying are Magic Objects, so Destroy Magic makes them not working for an entire round. If a Character is holding more than 4 Objects by means of a Magic Object, he has to drop surplus items as frogemoth said. Of course the player can choose what to keep and what to leave on his current space.

Ah I see….never thought of that. Great could make that boring spell a bit more fun gui%C3%B1o.gif

Destroy Magic in the latest FAQ doesn't prevent a character with a Talisman from entering the Valley of Fire. This I will never agree with!

Destroy Magic stops all Magic Objects from working, including Talismans. There is no reason why Talismans wouldn't be affected by Destroy Magic. There is no basis for them to be excluded according to the rules or the text on the Destroy Magic Spell Card.

We will always play it that Talismans are affected by Destroy Magic just like any other Magic Object demonio.gif

Regards,

Ell.

another question related to OP. WIth bloodmoon a object called something like "tricky bag" is introduced. It basically allows you to trade that object for another object of a character when encountering them (similar to merchants skill). Does this item count as a special ability or can you trade this item for the "hidden pouch" object?

If you can do you also get everything that's inside the pouch?

Yes, Tricks and Treats works as well. You'd get everything inside the Concealed Pouch or Bag of Carrying, but the original possessor can swap items around before that happens (probably does so as you land on his space, but before you declare you're encountering him).

tnx Dam and others for all the clarifications!

Hmm, i would say that if you use the tricks or treats object on the bag of carrying or concealed pouch, and you trade it, then you don't get everything that is inside the pouch.

You simply trade the pouch, and the character who lost it must decide where he must keep it's item that were originally inside the pouch. If he can't keep it, then he must ditch it.

The same happens if someone steals a mule etc. You don't get everything what the mule carries.

You can read a bit about it in the faq when someone lose the concealed pouch etc