Exhausted Weapons?

By Captain Poe, in Rules questions & answers

Do exhausted weapons still provide their bonus to the attached character? For example, if I exhaust a dwarven axe attached to thorin in order to use goblin cleaver, and then attempt to attack the same target with thorin, would thorin gain the +2 attack bonus from the dwarven axe, or is it negated due to being exhausted?

Thanks.

The bonus would still apply.

Exhausting attachments generally has no effect on their game text unless otherwise specified. For instance, Steward of Gondor gives the attached character the Gondor trait. Even after you exhaust Steward for resources, it still passively grants that trait. The restriction on cards like Foe-hammer and Goblin-cleaver just makes it more difficult to play multiple copies of those cards in a single turn.

That makes sense. Thank you.