Hi, i have seen a few other posts regarding the confusion with the troll key and purse objective cards. I have been playing it that when these cards are revealed from the encounter deck i put them in the staging area then claim them with Bilbo. Other players have been discarding them if no trolls are in play and others have been waiting until stage 2 until putting the objective cards in. Can anyone suggest a definite rule on this please as i want to play it correctly.
Troll key and purse
I'm with you Ted, there is nothing to suggest you do anything but put them in the staging area when revealed.
If there are no Troll enemies in play when one of the objectives is revealed, the objective will indeed remain in the staging area. However, you won't be able to claim it with Bilbo, since there won't be an "attached Troll enemy" to damage or destroy. Sometimes the objectives turn up at the right time and lead you to treasure, but sometimes you just get unlucky.
Official answer from FFG is to discard the cards if no trolls are in play: boardgamegeek.com/thread/843685/troll-key-and-troll-purse
Great, thanks for the link.
Ok great, thanks for the info. Thats cleared that one up. Cheers.