Few Rules Questions

By AussieKSU, in Android: Netrunner The Card Game

Inside Job is played.

You encounter the first piece of Rezzed ICE (let's call it a Tollboth).

You have two effects in play:

1) Runner: Bypass the first piece of ICE encountered

2) Corp: Make the Runner Pay 3 Credits

The Runner is the active player, and chooses the order of their pending effects first, in this case, to bypass the ICE.

As the Runner is no longer encountering the ICE, the Corp cannot enact the Toolbooth effect.

This is the correct timing/order. It is important to remember that this is not MTG there is no stack. Therefore the runner gets to choose which things that "would" trigger, to address first. Choosing Fem first means that by paying X-credits the runner bypasses the currently encountered ICE. The game then looks at the run and determines no ICE is currently being encountered and the strcuture of a run dictates that the run can/must approach the next ICE. This also means that Fem avoids things like chum etc. because again the "when encountered" part of chums routine never gets a chance to trigger before it is bypasses. Though of course the runner could choose to trigger things before fem, but that would be a really bad idea.

I'm not sure what you mean but just to be clear if you use Femme to bypass the next ice after encountering chum (and letting chum's routine activate) you will actually take damage from chum even though you bypassed the next ice since you never broke any subroutines.

Edited by frybender

Inside Job is played.

You encounter the first piece of Rezzed ICE (let's call it a Tollboth).

You have two effects in play:

1) Runner: Bypass the first piece of ICE encountered

2) Corp: Make the Runner Pay 3 Credits

The Runner is the active player, and chooses the order of their pending effects first, in this case, to bypass the ICE.

As the Runner is no longer encountering the ICE, the Corp cannot enact the Toolbooth effect.

This is the correct timing/order. It is important to remember that this is not MTG there is no stack. Therefore the runner gets to choose which things that "would" trigger, to address first. Choosing Fem first means that by paying X-credits the runner bypasses the currently encountered ICE. The game then looks at the run and determines no ICE is currently being encountered and the strcuture of a run dictates that the run can/must approach the next ICE. This also means that Fem avoids things like chum etc. because again the "when encountered" part of chums routine never gets a chance to trigger before it is bypasses. Though of course the runner could choose to trigger things before fem, but that would be a really bad idea.

Frybender is right. Two things here are very important:

1) The runner chooses the order of resolution OF HIS OWN abilities. ALL THE RUNNERS abilities that share the trigger MUST resolve before ANY of the corps. He CANNOT choose to pay three to Tollbooth and then Femme past it.

2) Chum's damage effect does not happen when you encounter the ICE - is it triggered by the fact that you DID encounter it, and by failing the break the subroutines, the condition is now fulfilled. Bear in mind that if you HADN'T encountered that ICE, then you couldn't have Femmed past, as the condition for Femme hadn't been met.

Basically, what happens is this:

>Runner fails to break Chum's subroutine, and continues the run.

>Runner approaches next ICE (paid ability window)

>Runner Encounters next ICE - Chum's subroutine condition has been met (NOT the actual resolution of the effect, that happens on a different timer), and Femme's trigger is met, allowing the use of Femme's bypass

>The runner pays to bypass using Femme

>The runner encountered the ICE and failed to break all the subroutines; the trigger for resolving Chum's routine is met NOW. The runner takes 3 net damage. If the runner is still alive, the runner may choose to continure or jack out.

Inside Job is played.

You encounter the first piece of Rezzed ICE (let's call it a Tollboth).

You have two effects in play:

1) Runner: Bypass the first piece of ICE encountered

2) Corp: Make the Runner Pay 3 Credits

The Runner is the active player, and chooses the order of their pending effects first, in this case, to bypass the ICE.

As the Runner is no longer encountering the ICE, the Corp cannot enact the Toolbooth effect.

This is the correct timing/order. It is important to remember that this is not MTG there is no stack. Therefore the runner gets to choose which things that "would" trigger, to address first. Choosing Fem first means that by paying X-credits the runner bypasses the currently encountered ICE. The game then looks at the run and determines no ICE is currently being encountered and the strcuture of a run dictates that the run can/must approach the next ICE. This also means that Fem avoids things like chum etc. because again the "when encountered" part of chums routine never gets a chance to trigger before it is bypasses. Though of course the runner could choose to trigger things before fem, but that would be a really bad idea.

Frybender is right. Two things here are very important:

1) The runner chooses the order of resolution OF HIS OWN abilities. ALL THE RUNNERS abilities that share the trigger MUST resolve before ANY of the corps. He CANNOT choose to pay three to Tollbooth and then Femme past it.

2) Chum's damage effect does not happen when you encounter the ICE - is it triggered by the fact that you DID encounter it, and by failing the break the subroutines, the condition is now fulfilled. Bear in mind that if you HADN'T encountered that ICE, then you couldn't have Femmed past, as the condition for Femme hadn't been met.

Basically, what happens is this:

>Runner fails to break Chum's subroutine, and continues the run.

>Runner approaches next ICE (paid ability window)

>Runner Encounters next ICE - Chum's subroutine condition has been met (NOT the actual resolution of the effect, that happens on a different timer), and Femme's trigger is met, allowing the use of Femme's bypass

>The runner pays to bypass using Femme

>The runner encountered the ICE and failed to break all the subroutines; the trigger for resolving Chum's routine is met NOW. The runner takes 3 net damage. If the runner is still alive, the runner may choose to continure or jack out.

You are correct about the chum, checked the FAQ 1.1 and it sites this example exactly. You would actually take chum's dmg since that particular conditional does not happen until "after" you have failed to break the subs on that last encountered ICE. So this is not the same conditional that happens as "when encountered" such as on Tollbooth etc.

Thanks for all the effort you folks have put into the forums, awesome resource.

One question I have is, if I have managed to get through an ICE and am encountering a second piece of ICE with a sub-routine my ICE breaker cannot handle. I am allowed to use another program that can break that sub-routine, but that program has to have the strength to beat that ICE. Is that correct?

Thanks for all the effort you folks have put into the forums, awesome resource.

One question I have is, if I have managed to get through an ICE and am encountering a second piece of ICE with a sub-routine my ICE breaker cannot handle. I am allowed to use another program that can break that sub-routine, but that program has to have the strength to beat that ICE. Is that correct?

Yes, you are correct.

Thanks for all the effort you folks have put into the forums, awesome resource.

One question I have is, if I have managed to get through an ICE and am encountering a second piece of ICE with a sub-routine my ICE breaker cannot handle. I am allowed to use another program that can break that sub-routine, but that program has to have the strength to beat that ICE. Is that correct?

Remember that *you* are encountering the ICE and the Icebreakers are just tools you have in your Toolbox.