frodos muck adder resolved

By richsabre, in Rules questions & answers

Hi Rich,
In order for the Adder's ability to destroy a character to trigger, damage must actually be placed. If you use Frodo's ability to raise threat instead of taking damage from a Muck Adder, then the Adder has not actually damaged Frodo and it's ability will not trigger.
Cheers,
Caleb

thanks for the response

Well its good to know for sure now how Frodo's ability is meant to be used. I just hope (crossing my fingers) that FFG will work on their wording of game text with a bit more care. Thanks for asking.

I think that's what we were expecting. It just means Frodo's ability should probably have read "When Frodo would be damaged…"

Thanks, rich.

What would that mean for Wainriders? Their effect reads: "Each damage dealt by Wainriders raises the defending player's threat by 1. " Until now I always played that when Frodo defends and takes 1 dmg you have to raise your threat by 2 -> 1 for Frodo's ability and 1 for the Wainriders. But with that clarification you could argue that the dmg was never there and your threat would only go up by 1.

Doom1502 said:

What would that mean for Wainriders? Their effect reads: "Each damage dealt by Wainriders raises the defending player's threat by 1. " Until now I always played that when Frodo defends and takes 1 dmg you have to raise your threat by 2 -> 1 for Frodo's ability and 1 for the Wainriders. But with that clarification you could argue that the dmg was never there and your threat would only go up by 1.

under that ruling i would say just normal +1 threat

rich

This also means Frodo is able to take amounts of damage that would kill him otherwise. I remember having read about this debate elsewhere.