Question about Engagement Abilities

By IneffableTruth, in Rules questions & answers

If a card says "When X engages a player, …" , does that ability activate even if I choose to engage said enemy before engagement checks?

Like since I engaged the enemy, it doesn't get to ambush me or whatever?

yes it does- so even if YOU engage hummerhorns it still deals the damage

rich

The ability will trigger regardless of who engages whom.

From p.16 of the rule book: "Whether an enemy is engaged through an engagement check, through a card effect, or through a player's choice, the end result is the same, with the enemy and the player engaging one another. In all cases, the player is considered to have engaged the enemy and the enemy is considered to have engaged the player ." [emphasis mine]

Thanks guys! I had looked in the rulebook but I didn't find that line.