Conflicting "Musts"

By glitch452, in Talisman Rules Questions

This just happened in the game my friends and I are playing using all the expansions. The sorceress who is a Lycanthrope moves to a space occupied by another character and a green dragon scale while Grilipus is the king. Both of these are things that she must encounter, so which does she encounter?

In my opinion, if you are using the Dragon set, the a Dragon King's scale is the overriding factor/concern. But the question could be, what if the scale's Encounter card is something like an object, place, stranger or follower? Would you be able to encounter the character *afterwards* ?

-Oberon

glitch452 said:

This just happened in the game my friends and I are playing using all the expansions. The sorceress who is a Lycanthrope moves to a space occupied by another character and a green dragon scale while Grilipus is the king. Both of these are things that she must encounter, so which does she encounter?

An easy question to answer.

If Grilipus is the Dragon King and you land on a space with a green dragon scale, then you must encounter the dragon scale. It does not matter whether you are a Lycanthrope or not, you must encounter the dragon scale. However if Grilipus is not the Dragon King, a Lycanthrope must attack a character on the space!

Regards,

Ell.

0beron said:

In my opinion, if you are using the Dragon set, the a Dragon King's scale is the overriding factor/concern. But the question could be, what if the scale's Encounter card is something like an object, place, stranger or follower? Would you be able to encounter the character *afterwards* ?

-Oberon

If you are forced to encounter a dragon scale, you must draw 1 Dragon Card from the relevant deck. You must then resolve all cards in the space (all instructions on the space are ignored). You do not encounter another character as you were forced to encounter the dragon scale!!!

Regards,

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

If you are forced to encounter a dragon scale, you must draw 1 Dragon Card from the relevant deck. You must then resolve all cards in the space (all instructions on the space are ignored).

I've had some confusion about this in my game, if you encounter the dragon scale (voluntarily/must) after that do you always encounter the other cards?

Yes all cards on the space must be encountered, if able to.

Ell.

Sorry to highjack this thread, but I have another question about dragon cards. If you pull a dragon card, and it's a 6(order number), and there is already a card with a 2-5 on the space, do you encounter the dragon card after the card/cards on the space? or is the dragon card always first.

Froman said:

Sorry to highjack this thread, but I have another question about dragon cards. If you pull a dragon card, and it's a 6(order number), and there is already a card with a 2-5 on the space, do you encounter the dragon card after the card/cards on the space? or is the dragon card always first.

You encounter cards according to the lowest number as normal. You do not necessarily encounter the Dragon Card first of all!

Ell.