Playing a second unique card

By Emrad, in Rules questions & answers

Reading the latest FAQ, I found this:

"Q: When players have separate staging areas at stage 4 of Foundations of Stone, can there be multiple copies of unique cards in play?

A: No. Players must still respect the rules for playing unique cards when they are split up. For example, if a player has Gandalf (CORE 73) in play, then no other player can play Gandalf ."

I'm only interested in the last part. Was the last sentence correctly written? Player really cannot play a unique card if another card with the same title is already in play? I always thought the most recent copy remained and the other one was discarded. I may have been incorrectly influenced by other games, though.

If this is correct, what happens with an effect such as Sneak Attack? Can I put a Gandalf from my hand if one is already in play? What if I can, what happens to the other one?

Thanks in advance!

if a unique character is in play then the card cannot enter play….so you cannot sneak gandalf in play if another copy is already there

rulebook page 8 says any attempt to put it into play will fail and it will stay in its current area ie your hand

rich

Thanks rich, I didn't have my rulebook with me right now :)