Elrond and Vilya

By Beast Rabban, in Rules questions & answers

A question about the ability of Vilya and Elrond. If i exhaust Elrond and Vilya and reveal Stand and Fight do I then get to choose any character in any players discard pile and bring it into play for free (rules for uniqueness allowing)? I would think so but it is a little grey due to the cost of S&F being X and you haven't actually paid anything.

I also assume because the playing or putting into play is a card effect that I can ignore the restriction of only Playing Characters and Attachments during the Planning phase ie if I use the V/Elrond ability to reveal a character or attachment during Questing phase I can put it into play. this opens a world of possibilities that were not there before.

i honestly dont know the first however i think you are correct on the last- so you could forest snare out of the planning phase for instance

rich

I am sure that the answer to your first question is that S&F could be played as though X were 0. So you could use it to play a 0-cost character from someone's discard pile.

Very interesting questions, I'm looking forward to the answers.

We might need to contact costumer service on this one as well.

For what it's worth, In Magic: the Gathering, when a card which has X in its cost is cast for free, X is equal to 0. But it might work differently in this game, and nothing official has come yet.

I'd like to add a 3rd question to these: What if something prevents us from playing cards? (or more than one ally per turn) Can we still play the card for free from Vilya upon the resolution of its Action?

Emrad said:

Very interesting questions, I'm looking forward to the answers.

We might need to contact costumer service on this one as well.

For what it's worth, In Magic: the Gathering, when a card which has X in its cost is cast for free, X is equal to 0. But it might work differently in this game, and nothing official has come yet.

I'd like to add a 3rd question to these: What if something prevents us from playing cards? (or more than one ally per turn) Can we still play the card for free from Vilya upon the resolution of its Action?

vilya reads you can PLAY OR PUT INTO PLAY…..so if a card says you cannot play a card then i think that means no matter how you intend getting it into play you cannot…also it says if able

rich

radiskull said:

I am sure that the answer to your first question is that S&F could be played as though X were 0. So you could use it to play a 0-cost character from someone's discard pile.

I think I will have to agree with you on this until some one unless some one from FFG tells me otherwise. A question that had to be asked though I think.