When can you spend fortune points to remove recharge points?

By paulsk, in WFRP Rules Questions

"A player may spend one fortune point to remove a tracking token from any of his recharging cards. This card can be spent from his personal supply, or spent from the party sheet when a fortune refresh is triggered. Multiple fortune points may be spent at the same time, allowing cards to recharge much faster. p.63"

My question is: can this be down outside a player's turn (for example to make an Active Defense ready in an emergency)? or is it during-turn only?

I can't find anything in the rules that limit when fortune points can be used. So I would allow them to be used to remove recharge in an opponents turn.

well considering the fortune pool can refresh at anytime, and the rule of 'yes', i'd let them refresh active defences.

Seems convincing to me. :) thanks