one fo Minstrel Special abilities...

By catosal, in Talisman

in the chart....

1) "animals and dragons will not attack you, although u may choose to attack him"

so, if I choose to attack animals or dragons, what happens?

they are automatically destroyed? or nothing happens and they remain same space?

If you choose to attack them, you fight them as normal.

I have take a look at the Minstrel, and i see that he can have as many enemie followers( animals) as he want. On top of that, he don't have to discard them after he use one into battle .

I must say that he is very handy.

What happens if you charm a animal, and it will not work. Can you attack it afterwards? gran_risa.gif We need meat too !

Ps: What about meat adventure cards lengua.gif Heroes must eat too you know lengua.gif

Bah, I miss the downside to the Charm Animal power (back in 2nd ed). That is, if you try and fail to charm the animal, it attacks you (guess your music offended his senses gran_risa.gif ).

If you failed to Charm an Animal in 2nd Edition (as with this one) the Animal would not attack you.

"1. Animals and Dragons will not attack you, though you may choose to attack them."

Whether you decide to attack or charm an animal, it will not attack you.

talismanisland said:

If you failed to Charm an Animal in 2nd Edition (as with this one) the Animal would not attack you.

"1. Animals and Dragons will not attack you, though you may choose to attack them."

Whether you decide to attack or charm an animal, it will not attack you.

Wait, so what's this bit from the Expert Rule Book:

"Ability 2: You may attempt to charm any Enemy Animal. To do so, you must roll one die with the following results: higher than the Enemy Animal’s Strength – it becomes your Follower and it will add its Strength to yours in Combat or equal to or less than the Enemy Animal’s Strength – you must fight it . " (emphasis added)

Won't go on record and say that bit is also on the card as it's been years since I've actually looked at the 2nd ed Minstrel card, but seem to recall it being there.

Thanks

Anyway, now that i am thinking about it. You can only roll one die to charm a animal. That means that you can only charm a animal with a strength 5 or less.

So you can never charm a dragon sad.gif It would be nice to have a dragon as you follower gran_risa.gif Whoppa i get a strenght 7 boost gran_risa.gif

A minstrel should have that power to bring a dragon to a deep sleep demonio.gif

Velhart said:

Thanks

Anyway, now that i am thinking about it. You can only roll one die to charm a animal. That means that you can only charm a animal with a strength 5 or less.

So you can never charm a dragon sad.gif It would be nice to have a dragon as you follower gran_risa.gif Whoppa i get a strenght 7 boost gran_risa.gif

A minstrel should have that power to bring a dragon to a deep sleep demonio.gif

Of course, Dragon has keywords Enemy Dragon, not Enemy Animal that you need for the Minstrel's Charm to work.

Yeah you are right.

It is not possible...

Then i must do it with apes, snakes, and wolfes demonio.gif Follow my melody and attack Dam with all your might gran_risa.gif

In 2nd Edition, the Minstrel's true 2nd Ability is : "If you do not attack an Animal, you may attempt to charm it. To do so, roll 1 die: if you roll higher than the Animal’s Strength, it joins you as a Follower and adds its Strength to yours in Combat. Once you have successfully charmed an Animal, you may not charm another for the remainder of the game."

The Expert Rule Book is a collection of clarifications used by Ell and his gaming group for certain situations and what you quote is merely a suggestion as to what happens when a Minstrel fails to charm something.

I would think though, given what happens with other characters, that the Minstrel would merely end up losing out on the combat and the charming of the Animal. Think of it as a character vs character encounter. One would only be able to use a Special Ability OR enter into combat, so the Minstrel should either be able to Attack the beast or Charm it. If he fails that then it's a case of "Oh well, maybe next time..."

Related question:

Can the Minstrel's animals be "Mesmerised?"

It does say that you can take it as a "Follower."

If so, what happens? Since non-Minstrels don't have the text that allows them to add the animal's strength, is it just a scary Lion following the Prophetess but unwilling to help her in battle? Or does the spell simply fizzle because the card itself says "enemy" rather than "follower"?

My personal opinion would be this.

You could mesmerise the animal, away from the minstral. However you then have no power to control it, so it revets to an animal card, and is left in your space.

Thats just how I would do it.

However, no need to get picky, as there are many more other followers in the game Iwould use that spell on, instead of the minstrals animal.

Maybe we must add this to the FAQ too !

A minor one, but nice to know !