Question regarding Thalin

By CJMatos, in Rules questions & answers

Last saturday, to try and catch two new players to play LOTR: LCG, I've played the first Core question "Passage through Mirkwood"

We played with only the core decks:

- I had leadership;

- My brother had Spirit;

- My friend had Tactics;

With the 2b card "A Fork in the Road" as quest card, in the quest phase, we quested with, among others, Thalin.

We quested successfully and put the necessary tokens to end the current quest card. Then, we immediately did the Forced effect, that resulted in quest card "A Chosen Path: Don't Leave the Path!".

What I want to know is: Does Thalin gives damage to the chosen spider cards?

Waiting for your answers.

Carlos José Matos

No, those Spiders are added to the staging area, they aren't revealed.

Dam is right. For Thalin to do dmg to those spiders the wording on his card would have to be in the lines of "as an enemy enters play" instead of "when it is revealed from the encounter deck"

Thank you for your quick answers…

I have a Question with Thalin on the Quest

Journey Down the Anduin, 2B is active and the party quested succesfully among thalin who was also commited to the quest.

Enough progress counters were placed on the quest card to switch to 3b.

3B When Revealed: Reveal 2 encounter cards per player, and add them to the staging area.

Skip the staging step of the quest phase for the remainder of the game.

Once there are no enemies in play, the players have won the game.

My Question:

Is Thalin still commited to the quest that he whould deal 1 damage to each enemy when its revealed from the encounter deck?

Kirk Bauer, Turn Sequence:

3.3 Player Actions
3.4 Quest Resolution (still performed even if no characters quested)
3.3.1: Add together all willpower values from committed characters still alive
3.3.2: Add threat of all cards in staging area (NOT active location or engaged enemies)
3.3.2.1: willpower < threat: each Player must increase threat by difference
-or-
3.3.2.2: willpower > threat: add difference in progress to current location

3.3.2.2.1 if Location complete, discard and put tokens > Location on Quest card
3.3.2.2.2 if Quest complete, discard extra progress tokens and move on to next Quest

3.5 End Phase: characters are no longer considered committed to a quest, but remain exhausted

Questing successfully is Part of the Quest resolution step, so is 3B still on

3.3.2.2.2 if Quest complete, discard extra progress tokens and move on to next Quest

Yeah, that will still be considered part of the questing phase. If Thalin is committed to the quest when 2B is completed in Journey Down the Anduin, he does put damage on enemies that are revealed as a result of the text on 3B.