Tavern

By hawgboy, in Talisman

Playing last night and my bro lands on the Tavern. He does his compulsery roll (more on that later) and comes up with Gamble and lose one gold). Well he had no gold to begin with, so what then...does he lose a life(which would be likely in the real world)??? Have to drop an object??? Nothing????

In the interest of keeping the game going, we agreed that the next time he scored gold he would have to burn it to eliminate his "gambling debt".

He had to roll gold or not because we interpret the corner spaces to "must" be ecountered whether you buy some thing in the city or village or take you chance with the mystic, ect. Is this the proper way to play this or can these be considered "safe spaces"* where you you don't have to roll anything.

*exception- Evil landing on the Chapel must lose a life

Thanks

Hawgboy

hawgboy said:

Playing last night and my bro lands on the Tavern. He does his compulsery roll (more on that later) and comes up with Gamble and lose one gold). Well he had no gold to begin with, so what then...does he lose a life(which would be likely in the real world)??? Have to drop an object??? Nothing????

In the interest of keeping the game going, we agreed that the next time he scored gold he would have to burn it to eliminate his "gambling debt".

He had to roll gold or not because we interpret the corner spaces to "must" be ecountered whether you buy some thing in the city or village or take you chance with the mystic, ect. Is this the proper way to play this or can these be considered "safe spaces"* where you you don't have to roll anything.

*exception- Evil landing on the Chapel must lose a life

Thanks

Hawgboy

Hi,

If you roll a 3 in the Tavern and you don't have a Gold to lose, nothing happens. It's not the real world, it's Talisman world and many things are far from realistic. If you don't like it, you can always make a house rule by mutual agreement with other players (i.e. burn one gold to eliminate the gambling debt).

You played the right way with spaces like City,Tavern,Village, Chapel, Graveyard. When you're there, you must follow the instructions, if able. If you land on the City and you don't have Objects you want to turn into Gold, or you can't visit the Doctor because you don't have Gold or have full health, then you must go for the last option: roll for the Enchantress (same does the Mystic in the Village).

When you land on a Space, always follow the instructions on it (including Place Adventure Cards). There's always some exception: in Forest and Crags you may decide to roll the die if you have an Ability/Follower that protects you from these spaces, hoping to score a 6. Now that cards such as Poltergeist and Cursed By a Hag are real Followers, also a roll in the Chasm might have a purpose.

Thank you for the clarification. It's crazy cuz when we were teens, we played this game all the time and now we find ourselves wondering if we were playing some things wrong in the 2nd ed. of if they simply changed. Oh well, I'm just grateful the game has returned. I've had it for two weeks and the time I've spent playing it instead of going out has already made the game pay for itself.

For as long as I have played Talisman (since 2nd edition first came out) I remember there being an errata or a rule somewhere stating that if you gamble at the tavern and are instructed to lose a gold and you DON'T have gold to lose ... you lose a life instead.

Quite possibly one of those old rules long since forgotten ... but the crew that I have played with has played that way for 14+ years.

Not forgotten, just changed. The change was brought about to bring parity to the roll choices of the Enchantress to give a leg up to players early on in the game. As in, when you are told to lose a Strength or Craft there, and are at your starting value, nothing happens.

Yeah, back in the day we used that same houserule, no Gold, gambler take it out of your skin/hide. Haven't yet instituted that rule for 4th ed though. Might have to think about it one these days.

We play 'dont gamble with your life' - loose a life if you havnt got any gold.

3rd edition tavern had this rule, cant remember if 2nd did.

Another option I've seen played is that when you gamble and lose and have no gold, you have to pay with an object or magic object... or a life.

We play that if you go to the tavern and roll a one you have to take a shot... Wait that wasn't relevant at all, was it.

Reply for the_warlock:

Wait a minute...

Are you sure? Because it says visit and not.. must.
If i read the text on the space of the village or city, then you are free to choose if you want to visit something or not...

But it is also possible that they means something else....

Yes, the City and Village say "Visit". This is not at your discretion. By the same token "Draw Card" spaces do not say "must" either.

Thanks !

That can changed the whole game, if you must encounter the enchantres or the mystic ( if you have no other choice)

That also means that if you must encounter the enchantres and you roll unlucky, then it is more possible to become a toad.

Actually we ignore the enchantress, because you can also lose one strength or craft there. cool.gif

Velhart said:

Thanks !

That can changed the whole game, if you must encounter the enchantres or the mystic ( if you have no other choice)

That also means that if you must encounter the enchantres and you roll unlucky, then it is more possible to become a toad.

Actually we ignore the enchantress, because you can also lose one strength or craft there. cool.gif

City is one of my all-time most avoided places IF I have to encounter the Enchantress. Heck, even with Fate I'll rather take an auto-Life hit over going to the City (say you're Evil and middle of the City - Chapel stretch of the board and roll a 3; of course, that's just poor planning to move there on the previous turn).

Then it is easier with the enchantress in the third edition because she is in the city expansion and you can go into the shop if you want.

But now that you say it: if i must choose for losing one life in the chapel or the chance for becoming a toad or losing a strength or craft in the city, then i think i will choose for the chapel, but maybe with fate, there is a chance to get strenght or craft instead of losing it gran_risa.gif

talismanisland said:

Yes, the City and Village say "Visit". This is not at your discretion. By the same token "Draw Card" spaces do not say "must" either.

If you don't want to encounter the enchantress/mystic, I do not see what would stop you from visiting the healer or the blacksmith even if you don't buy anything.

This is a little confusing.

If you can meet the blacksmith or healer without buying anything or healing anything for a price, then you can also say that you don't have to visit the places.

If i read Talismanisland posts, then he says that you must visit one the places, so if you can't buy anything then the last option is the mystic or enchantress.. ( otherwise it's the same for not visiting and doing nothing

You cannot visit one of the places and "do nothing".

That is the same as those players who think it is okay to cast Healing on someone on full life just to burn a Spell.

Yeah i agreed with you.

A spell must do something, otherwise you can't use it.

PS: Thanks for adding me to your friend list gran_risa.gif Now i have one friend lol gui%C3%B1o.gif

Velhart said:

PS: Thanks for adding me to your friend list gran_risa.gif Now i have one friend lol gui%C3%B1o.gif

He's just setting you up for Psychic combat lengua.gif .

Haha, Dam gui%C3%B1o.gif

i have a good laugh with that lol gran_risa.gif

But it's true gran_risa.gif

I have another question about the Tavern (i want to be sure)

If you have rolled the dice into the tavern and you get the boatman, can you get to the other side on the same turn or the next turn.

On the tavern says. as your next move. ( so..i think it is on the same turn..

Velhart said:

I have another question about the Tavern (i want to be sure)

If you have rolled the dice into the tavern and you get the boatman, can you get to the other side on the same turn or the next turn.

On the tavern says. as your next move. ( so..i think it is on the same turn..

You should think that it is during your next turn instead. Your next move is at the beginning of your next turn; you spend your next turn at the Temple then.

The same happens when you roll a 5 and find the wizard who teleports you.

So it is actually the same as a raft.

With the raft, you must also wait for your next turn to move to the other side...(after getting the raft)

Velhart said:

So it is actually the same as a raft.

With the raft, you must also wait for your next turn to move to the other side...(after getting the raft)

Yes, the same as with the Raft (or Boatman Adventure Card or Water Walking Spell from Reaper Expansion). Crossing the river is your next turn's move and you encounter the space where you land on.