Frozen Outpost and Lion's Mouth

By FuriousG, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Frozen outpost reads, "challenges: kneel to choose and stand a defending character. Until the end of the challenge, that character gets +2 strength".

While playing a game, I attempted to use this on a character that had "does not kneel to defend" to give them the plus 2. Based on a similar situation that involved fury of the lion, we ruled that this was acceptable. The "kneel to stand a defending character" isn't a trigger/cost, and the period makes it seem like its just a bonus (kind of like the to be a... line of events).

Is this ruling correct?

Also along these lines, The Lion's Mouth says : "while there is at least 1 power on the lion's mouth, it gains: Dominance: kneel the lion's mouth to move a power from a house card to a card with infamy."

Our understanding is the person controlling the lion's mouth can basically poach power off our house card once it gets a power. Is this also accurate?

I think Outpost only works on a kneeling charcater (if you excise and stand it reads choose a kneeling character)

Lion's Mouth does take power off house cards (can be the lion's mouth owner's too)

Since there's no "then" between efects you can give the bonus to any defending character (even if he's standing already)

eloooooooi said:

Since there's no "then" between efects you can give the bonus to any defending character (even if he's standing already)

This is correct. The +2/+4 does not depend upon the success of the standing part of the effect, so you can pump a "does not kneel to defend" character. Note, however, that the character still must actually BE defending when it is chosen....