Hi everyone,
I'm new to CoC, and the "if able" clause got me a bit confused, too ;-) Thanks to all people in this thread, it cleared things up for me, I think. To summarize (and please correct me if I'm wrong), there are 3 different cases how to deal with "if able":
- On cards with only 1 directive like Y'Golonac and Nightmares!, "if able" doesn't change anything, because players have to fulfill as much of the card text as possible, anyway (last FAQ entry about Julia Brown).
- On cards with 2 or more directives like the Byakhee Attack, "if able" has a meaning. If one or more of the directives cannot be (successfully) resolved, resolve no directive at all (FAQ entry about if able - Byakhee Attack).
- On cards where directive(s) are connected via "if able" and followed by "then, …" like on Feral Elder Thing, check if all directives can be resolved. If at least 1 player cannot obey 1 directive (e.g. only has 1 card in his hand), neither he nor other players must obey the directive(s) (e.g. discard 2 cards). Only if all players discarded 2 cards, each draws 1 card.
Is this right?