Question regarding "Sacked" encounter card

By JonofPDX, in Rules questions & answers

So, have finally had a chance to play after a while away from the game and am playing the Conflict at the Carrock scenario. Have a couple of questions regarding the "Sacked" encounter card.

1) I am pretty sure I already know the answer to this, but will Miner of the Iron Hills remove this from a hero? I would think that it would but I wasn't 100% certain due to the "cannot be canceled" notation.

and 2) How DO you remove this card? I mean, there must be a way for non-lore decks to take care of this. I did see a post a while ago (cannot find now--sorry) that mentioned that it is removed when you kill an enemy w/ the "troll" keyword but I can't find that notation on either the Rule insert or the card itself (or, for that matter, on the troll cards). Am I just blind or is this a non-removable effect?

Thanks for the help--Jon

JonofPDX said:

So, have finally had a chance to play after a while away from the game and am playing the Conflict at the Carrock scenario. Have a couple of questions regarding the "Sacked" encounter card.

1) I am pretty sure I already know the answer to this, but will Miner of the Iron Hills remove this from a hero? I would think that it would but I wasn't 100% certain due to the "cannot be canceled" notation.

and 2) How DO you remove this card? I mean, there must be a way for non-lore decks to take care of this. I did see a post a while ago (cannot find now--sorry) that mentioned that it is removed when you kill an enemy w/ the "troll" keyword but I can't find that notation on either the Rule insert or the card itself (or, for that matter, on the troll cards). Am I just blind or is this a non-removable effect?

Thanks for the help--Jon

1) Canceling a card isn't the same as removing it. You can certainly remove Sacked from a character with the Miner. You just can't cancel it (with Eleanor, perhaps) at the point at which it comes out of the encounter deck and becomes an attachment.

Thanks for the reply :)

Any idea about question #2--killing a troll to remove sacked? I know I have read it somewhere but I suppose it could have been somebodies house rule.

No, each named Troll has a Response that allows you to discard a Sacked. Otherwise, the effects I'm thinking of that aren't Lore are things like killing off a hero then bringing them back with Fortune and Fate or Landroval.

Wow--I really am blind. Somehow I managed to completely miss the response on the named troll cards--AND I LOOKED TWICE!

Thanks for the help! I feel bad for even asking now, lol.

Jon

Leadership and Spirit decks could also include Miners, use Sneak Attack (or the Secrecy card that gets an ally from the top 5 cards) for Leadership, Stand and Fight with Spirit (dump Miner to pump Eowyn). Only Tactics is missing an option so far to get the Miner into play without needing Lore.