EAGLE question

By jerry1989, in Rules questions & answers

Hello, i have question about eagle event named Meneldors Flight.

The card says : "ACTION: Choose na Eagle ally. Return that character to its owners hand."

Can i choose eagle ally in discard pile? I think i can, because there isnt condition "eagle ally in play" but better be sure:-)

Thanks fo answer.

No, only eagles in play. Actions refer to cards in play unless stated otherwise.

Probably being dumb as I have only had this game a short while but….. why would you want to return an eagle ally to your hand?

You spend all that resource getting it into play only to then remove it. Landroval for example costs 5 to play (which isn't cheap).

The only reason I can think of could be that the eagle character has so many wounds on it that it is close to being killed, in which case you return it to your hand to play again.

I presume in this case it returns as an ally with all of it's wounds removed?

Correct, when an ally returns to your hand and then you play it again, it will not carry any wound, essentially healing it.

Moreover, there is an eagle ally that deals two damages to an enemy in the staging area when it comes into play and leaves play, so you will want to return it to your hand (thus deals two damages) and then play it again (deal two damages again).

Angus Lee said:

Correct, when an ally returns to your hand and then you play it again, it will not carry any wound, essentially healing it.

Moreover, there is an eagle ally that deals two damages to an enemy in the staging area when it comes into play and leaves play, so you will want to return it to your hand (thus deals two damages) and then play it again (deal two damages again).

It's the Descendant of Thorondor ally.

That is a very good reason to return it to your hand, instead of letting him go to discard pile

Thanks, Guys.

But what happens to Vassal of the Winglord?

After using Vassal in the combat phase, you have to discard it. Where does the timing come into this?

I mean does the event card Meneldors Flight stop him going to the discard pile, or can you save him to play again?

After all, it is a cheap card at 1 resource but attacks with 3. Just a shame you can only use him once - or maybe twice with Meneldors Flight?

Chaos101 said:

Thanks, Guys.

But what happens to Vassal of the Winglord?

After using Vassal in the combat phase, you have to discard it. Where does the timing come into this?

I mean does the event card Meneldors Flight stop him going to the discard pile, or can you save him to play again?

After all, it is a cheap card at 1 resource but attacks with 3. Just a shame you can only use him once - or maybe twice with Meneldors Flight?

You cannot get him back cose force effect(on eagle card) trigger before any other effects. So after you resolve combat you discard him by his force effect and there is no time for response effect of Meneldors Flight.

Hmmmm…. thought as much.

Thanks for clearing it up for me though.

Another way to use this card is to "fuel" the power of the Eagle of the Misty Mountains. When your eagle ally leaves play to go back to your hand, just choose to make it an attachement for the EotMM instead :)

Azharh said:

Another way to use this card is to "fuel" the power of the Eagle of the Misty Mountains. When your eagle ally leaves play to go back to your hand, just choose to make it an attachement for the EotMM instead :)

Oh hadn´t thought about that one. Thanks for the tip :)