I'm looking for some help understanding how running into low power/favour works. The wording in the rules is just not sinking in with me.
Under the Guide to Wizards and Magic pg34 it reads that a caster must fulfill all the requirements to cast the spell including having enough power. Under Losing Power it states that if you don't have enough power when forced to pay a power cost (likely from a Chaos rolled or additional effects on the power) then you suffer one stress. I take this to be that you have payed just enough power to cast your spell, taking you to zero power, and then you roll a Chaos and cannot pay the cost. So then I would gain 1 stress.
Yet the very next paragraph reads that if a player is at zero power and forced to pay a cost that the situation grows more dire. How is this situation different than the previous paragraph of "if a character does not have enough power in his supply to satisfy the required loss". The new section "No Power to Lose" says that a roll must be made to gain 1 stress and possibly an insanity. How is this more dire? It seems like its the exact same thing, or is it?
Are these two different scenarios? How can one run short on power in the first section without being at zero yet have a separate rule for when you are at zero and unable to pay in the next section.
Basically, what happens when I run out of power? Do I gain 1 stress, make a roll, or both and under what situation would this happen?
I'm sure I'm making this much harder than it needs to be, but I simply cannot get my head around these specific rulings.
Thanks for the help,
Tom / Doc4