Question about grasping tentacle

By Kcall07, in Rules questions & answers

Hello I had a question regarding the grasping tentacle in the watcher in the water scenario.

The card text reads: when grasping tentacle is attacked, discard the top card of the encounter deck. If that card has a shadow effect or is a tentacle enemy, attach this card to an attacking character.

My questions are:

A) when it says 'this card' does it mean the card you just discarded? Or the grasping tentacle itself?

B) when this effect happens, does your attack still count? Or is it cancelled?

I have the same question for the striking tentacle?

C) when the effect happens does your attack still count?

Many thanks in advance.

Ben.

You attach the Grasping Tentacle, since the "this card" text is on the GT. If you attach it, your attack fizzles, it doesn't do any damage. Since GT's ability is a Forced, it takes place before your damage would happen and at that point, it is no longer in play as an Enemy.

For C, I think you mean Thrashing Tentacle? If you meet the Forced for TT, you deal the damage to one character the attacking player controls, no damage goes to the TT. I think it is meant to simulate that the TT is flailing about, so a hit that looks to hit it, might actually hit an ally behind it as the TT suddenly jerks.