twlight gate / voice of the jungle

By COCLCG, in CoC Rules Discussion

its probably buried somewhere in the FAQ but i thought i'd ask first.

let's say i twilight gate a guardian elder thing and commit it to combing the archives so it can wound any opposing characters, and then play voice of the jungle on combing the archives, then which takes precedence?? as the guardian thing can't uncommit to become a resource again (theoretically).

i'm sure the return to resource is probably not regarded as 'uncomitting' but i AM enjoying this little pipe dream!!

Woldnt this thought process lead to conclusion that you cannot die becouse that would cause uncommiting?

haha. good point. i'm simply grasping at straws as to how Yog can counter this card, but i'm thinking it can't, and slowly slips back towards the bottom of the pile……. (please please please correct me!!)

and if you think THAT was a stupid play on rules wording, then how about this one:

from FAQ: Out of play is the Draw Deck, Hand, Domains (and resources), and Discard Pile.

with no mention of the conspiracy cards. so can dragged to the deep return combing the archives to the bottom of its players deck?? i'm still searching for where it might say that conspiracies are unique. i'm thinking i may have seen somewhere that the same story can be played by both players, but only 1 PER player?? (if this is true i'm gonna shoot myself for helping grrrrr - cthulhu).

EDIT: just consulted rule book where it states:

2) *****they enter the game as 'new' story cards, in addition to the three that are currently IN PLAY.

7) if a conspiracy card leaves play for any reason other than being won, it is placed in it's owners discard pile. if a conspiracy card is discarded, all success tokens on that card are lost.

so, i suppose, conspiracies CAN be removed without winning, and dragged to the deep might be the card to do it!! (god i hate cthulhu).