Son of Arnor trick angainst the Watcher when he is in the staging area?

By PESKPESK, in Rules questions & answers

Can Son of Arnor engage the watcher if there is a tentacle in play ?

Son of Arnor: Response: After Son of Arnor enters play, choose an enemy card in the staging area or currently engaged with another player. Engage that enemy.

The Watcher: While there is another Tentacle enemy in play, The Watcher cannot be optionally engaged.
If The Watcher is in the staging area at the end of the combat phase, each player must deal 3 damage to 1 character he controls.

This was discussed here: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/814558/son-of-arnor-and-the-watcher

My view: you can use Son of Arnor in the way you propose. Reasoning: "optional engagement" is an effect defined in the rulebook. Son of Arnor's Response is a separate type of effect that comes solely from its card, which does not refer to "optional engagement".

Thx, but there is no official ruling or FAQ on this yet?

I don't see anything preventing you from engaging the Watcher this way.

Just a clever way to get him while there is tentacles are all around. Like it's going to be a nice walk when he engages you with all those tentacles squirming around.

PESKPESK said:

Thx, but there is no official ruling or FAQ on this yet?

The FAQ hasn't been updated for about 8 months. Personally I don't think this question needs an official ruling, but if you do, the only way is to ask the designers directly (link at the bottom of the page).