Exhaust as cost

By marcoa.ramirez@gmail.com, in CoC Rules Discussion

HI,

My friend exhaust two cards Bringer of Fire, and he exhaust her Bringer to destroy a character. I have a Walk the path, Can i play Walk the Path and copy Bringer's effect?

I think "exhaust Bringer of Fire " is cost, and I haven't cost my effect. It is correct?

Binger of Fire: Exhaust all copies of Brinder of Fire you control to choose and destroy a character with skill 4 or lower. Use this ability only if you control more than 1 cartd name Bringer of Fire.

Walk the Path: Afert an opponent triggers and effect, copy taht effect without paying any cost. You make and choices the copied effect requieres.

That should work just fine, imho.

This shouldn't work at all IMHO.

If I understand your post correctly only your friend does control several copies of Bringer of Fire. So while you do not have to pay the cost of the effect you still must meet its requirements and the requirement here is that you have more than one copy of Bringers of Fire..

mischraum.de said:

This shouldn't work at all IMHO.

If I understand your post correctly only your friend does control several copies of Bringer of Fire. So while you do not have to pay the cost of the effect you still must meet its requirements and the requirement here is that you have more than one copy of Bringers of Fire..

I would say it works. The cost is "Exhaust all copies of Bringer of Fire to…". Everything said before "to" is part of the cost so that is ignored with Walk the Path. This is clear.

The effect is "destroy a character with skill 4 or lower" and that is what Walk the Path will copy. "Use this ability only if you control more than 1 card named Bringer of Fire" is just requirement of the triggered effect and Walk the Path copies just the effect which is "destroy a character with skill 4 or lower". Opponent triggered an effect anyway and you should be able to copy it. But I think we have to ask Damon about this. It is still very unclear what is an effect and what part of the card is considered an effect.

Question sent to Damon.

Surreal, I bow to you!

Question: I believe it is not possible to copy the effect of Bringer of Fire with Walk the Path when I myself do not have at least 2 Bringer of Fire.

Answer from Damon:
Actually you can. Walk the Path copies the effect of Bringer of Fire, it does not trigger the ability of that card. The play restriction is what is required to trigger Bringer of Fire, not Walk the Path.