Gypsy and Lunar Events

By rdskinfn7, in Talisman Rules Questions

Greetings all. I ended up playing this past weekend with the Blood Moon expansion, and we came across an issue with the Gypsy. On the Gypsy's card it says "Whenever an Event is drawn, you may use your power of foretelling and choose to be unaffected by the Event…" Is the Gypsy allowed to apply this skill to Lunar Events as well?

My inclination is to think that she is not able to use this skill because a Lunar Event is something that can go on indefinitely, for example we had the Moon Mist card in play for 30 minutes which requires you to roll two dice for your movement and choose the lowest score, while an Event at most normally last 3 turns. Additionally, something like the "Moon Mist" I would think would settle over the entire land thereby affecting everyone, I don't see how the Gypsy's power of foretelling could make her see better through the mist.

The counter-argument to this, is in the rules for Blood Moon it says "Lunar Events are treated in all respects like normal Events except that they use a couple of additional rules…(p. 2)." The additional rules don't mention anything about the Gypsy.

Finally, the wording of cards in Talisman has always seemed to be very important (an Enemy - Monster is different than an Enemy - Animal and so on), so I would think that by the same extent, a Lunar Event is different than and Event for the purposes of the Gypsy's special ability.

What are the thoughts of this board / has a ruling been made on this topic already?

Thanks for the help!

I am not sure about this, but i think that the gypsy can choose if she want to be effected by the lunar event.

There is already a rule about the Gypsy and the dark denizens, which stays on the board. She can still choose if she want to be effected by the dark denizens.

This is the same i think with Lunar events.

The Gypsy may choose to be unaffected by Lunar Events, as they are treated just like normal Events in regards to her special ability!

Ell.

When my group and I came across this we decided that the gypsy had one chance to either be affected or not by a lunar event. whether the the gypsy chose to take it or not, the choice is permanent while that event is active. but i can see having the gypsy choose whenever she wants.

Froman said:

When my group and I came across this we decided that the gypsy had one chance to either be affected or not by a lunar event. whether the the gypsy chose to take it or not, the choice is permanent while that event is active. but i can see having the gypsy choose whenever she wants.

If the Gypsy chooses to be unaffected by a Lunar Event when it is drawn, she cannot then choose to be affected by it on a subsequent turn (she remains unaffected by it during the whole time the Lunar Event is in effect).

Ell.