Goblin Sneak

By Nerdmeister, in Rules questions & answers

This enemy from the "The Long Dark" set has the text: " Forced: After Goblin Sneak engages a player, discard the top card of the encounter deck. If it is a treachery card, Goblin Sneak engages the next player, if able.

Since this does not have the text: "only once per turn", this would mean that Goblin Sneak can pass all the way around the table (multiple times even) seeing as when he engages a new player, as instructed, he must go through his forced ability again.

Is this a correct assesment?

Yep.

Each time the Sneak engages a player (either as a result of its forced effect or of a normal engagement check) its forced effect will trigger. As you noted, there is no limit to the number of times the effect can trigger within a given game round. Basically, you will keep discarding encounter cards and passing the Sneak around the table until you discard a non-treachery.

And in solo mode? There is no next player, so the effect doesn't trigger?

You are your own next player in a solo game. (The practical effect is you'll lose a few cards off the encounter deck.)

No, there is no next player if there are no other players, according to the rules sheet.

Ah, I stand corrected. Foiled by the rules sheet! /shakesfist

radiskull said:

/shakesfist

Hehe ;-)

But it's indeed a very rare event to catch you on something about rules!

man….is there no full piccy spoilers out yet…i need in on this!!!

radiskull said:

Ah, I stand corrected. Foiled by the rules sheet! /shakesfist

LOL

You made my day!

Sorry I don't get it, I must miss something.

Forced: After Goblin Sneak engages a player, discard the top card of the encounter deck.
If it is a treachery card, Goblin Sneak engages the next player, if able.

Well, according to my simple understanding of the rules, the engagement happens during 5.2 (se below) and then you take the encounter card, if it's the treachery Goblin Sneak engages the next player. Well, as I interpret the rules the Goblin Sneak is not longer engaged with the "first" player, and no attacks has happened yet since Combat is during phase 6, what’s the problem ? I must miss something.

Phase 5. Encounter
5.1 Player Engagement (in any order)
5.1.1: Each player may choose and engage any one enemy from the staging area
5.1.2: Player Actions

5.2 Engagement Checks (start with the first player and repeat 5.2.1 until done, in turn order)
5.2.1: Enemy with highest engagement cost < or equal to player's threat level engages player
Note: player's choice if more than one Enemy are tied for highest engagement cost
5.3 Player Actions
Note: at this point, all Enemy Cards not in staging area are Engaged With Player and vice-versa

Phase 6: Combat

i dont think the query was on attacks- its was on how many times it can move from player to player before finally settling on one (when no treachery was drawn) and then the game can go on

rich

Back to the solo question, do you still trigger the first part of the response (discard the top card) even when there is no next player? I know it wouldn't make a huge difference but just curious.

as pete points out there is no next player- you are both the first and last, so id say no

By the wording of the card as quoted, you clearly do enact the first sentence and discard the top card, as this is not stated as being conditional on anything. Only then will the second clause fail because there is no next player in solo.

ah sorry my bad, didnt read it properly- yes jjeagle is correct