Engage Question

By 91Vaapad013, in Rules questions & answers

Hello All,

I have a question regarding wording on a card. "Forest Spider" states "FORCED: After Forest Spider engages a player, it gets +1 attack until the end of the round.

My question is: does it only "engage" once and thus if it survives the round, it does not get the +1 the next round? Or does it "engage" each round giving it +1 attack each round?

Thanks

The Spider only gets +1 attack on the round in which it engages a player. Once an enemy engages, it remains engaged unless it dies or is otherwise disengaged via a card effect; it does not "re-engage" every round (see p. 20 of the rules).

So, unless the Forest Spider gets returned to the staging area (via cards like A Light in the Dark) or engages another player (via Son of Arnor), its attack bonus will usually only last for a single round.

Thanks, That's the perfect answer to my question. (I'm sure there will be more).