Blizzard/Poltergeist and Teleports

By Hiero5ant, in Talisman

The Blizzard states that "all characters... may only move one space per turn" while it is in effect. The PG does something similar.

The elf's ability states that when he is in the Woods " instead of rolling a die foryour move, you may move to any other woods in the same region." Along those lines, the Hearth Rune lets you teleport to your start space "instead of your normal move".

Do the Blizzard or PG preempt either of these powers?

BI FAQ stated that you can use Teleport while under the influence gui%C3%B1o.gif , you'd only get to 'port 1 space. Probably no-go for the Elf.

Yes, this was a large discussion some time ago.

The Blizzard and polterguiest would knock the elf out of the woods. Altough with blizzard, in two turns he would be back in it.

I see no problem...

The elf has more chances to warp trough the woods while he has a poltergeist or a blizard is taking places.

Hmmm, I always played that Blizzard / Poltergeist has always priority, so yes, character can teleport but only one space near it. Elf cannot use its ability.

Dam said:

BI FAQ stated that you can use Teleport while under the influence gui%C3%B1o.gif , you'd only get to 'port 1 space. Probably no-go for the Elf.

Do you have a link to said FAQ? And what's 'BI'?

Edit - got it, Black Industries!

Oh ****! i always readed it like elf and teleport actually work, i thought you dont "move" when porting, and elf move in another wood.........well seem i need re-think about it preocupado.gif

Dam said:

BI FAQ stated that you can use Teleport while under the influence gui%C3%B1o.gif , you'd only get to 'port 1 space. Probably no-go for the Elf.

Hi Dam,

If the BI edition says that you can use teleport under the influence, then it means that the elf can warp trough the woods right? it's still 1 space...

My group must be playing pretty generous. We have always allowed a teleport or elf woods movement to work during a blizzard or when under the influence of the poltergheist. The elf is sad enough. I don't like the idea of him losing abilities that are already pretty limited.

Velhart said:

Dam said:

BI FAQ stated that you can use Teleport while under the influence gui%C3%B1o.gif , you'd only get to 'port 1 space. Probably no-go for the Elf.

Hi Dam,

If the BI edition says that you can use teleport under the influence, then it means that the elf can warp trough the woods right? it's still 1 space...

Here's the quote from the BI FAQ:

"Q1: Can the Elf move from one Woods Space to another during the Blizzard?
A1: No, the Elf may only move one Space during the Blizzard, just like any other Character."

Note that Blizzard doesn't really hurt the Elf that much. Assuming our pointy-ear is in Woods as someone draws a Blizzard (which lasts for 2 rounds), the following most likely takes place: Woods (start) -> adjacent space -> Woods (Blizzard ends) -> ready for normal 'porting from Woods to Woods.

Dam said:

Velhart said:

Dam said:

BI FAQ stated that you can use Teleport while under the influence gui%C3%B1o.gif , you'd only get to 'port 1 space. Probably no-go for the Elf.

Hi Dam,

If the BI edition says that you can use teleport under the influence, then it means that the elf can warp trough the woods right? it's still 1 space...

Here's the quote from the BI FAQ:

"Q1: Can the Elf move from one Woods Space to another during the Blizzard?
A1: No, the Elf may only move one Space during the Blizzard, just like any other Character."

Note that Blizzard doesn't really hurt the Elf that much. Assuming our pointy-ear is in Woods as someone draws a Blizzard (which lasts for 2 rounds), the following most likely takes place: Woods (start) -> adjacent space -> Woods (Blizzard ends) -> ready for normal 'porting from Woods to Woods.

Ths is very confused.

The ability of the elf is also some sort of teleport. you don't roll a die for your move.

And what about the poltergeist? If you ask me, you can still warp trough the woods..

This needs to be included to the FAQ

Regarding Teleport:

"5.13 - Teleport
Q: Can a Character cast Teleport during the Blizzard, to rid himself of his Spell?
A: Yes, a Character may cast a Teleport Spell during a Blizzard, but they must still Move only one
Space."

Dam said:

Regarding Teleport:

"5.13 - Teleport
Q: Can a Character cast Teleport during the Blizzard, to rid himself of his Spell?
A: Yes, a Character may cast a Teleport Spell during a Blizzard, but they must still Move only one
Space."

So a teleport spell is useless, because you can only go to the next space clockwise or anti clockwise?

It's still weird..... teleporting or the elf special abiltiy by warping to another space on the board is still moving one space.

I hope this is including in the new Faq. Maybe that talismansilat can take a look at this...

Velhart said:

So a teleport spell is useless, because you can only go to the next space clockwise or anti clockwise?

It's still weird..... teleporting or the elf special abiltiy by warping to another space on the board is still moving one space.

I hope this is including in the new Faq. Maybe that talismansilat can take a look at this...

I think he and Elliott were involved in the BI FAQ, not sure if the names in that document are their real names, but I think so.

talismanamsilat = Elliott Eastoe & talismanisland = Jon New happy.gif

Ell.

I am talismanisland - or Talisman Island - or Jon New, talismanamsilat is Elliott Eastoe. We have been working on compiling the new FAQ but it needs FFG and John Goodenough to sort through it and check everything.

All answers we give here at the forums are unofficial unless they are quoted from the rules verbatim, but hopefully most will be adopted in the official FAQ when it is released.

(LOL!!! gran_risa.gif Double Team!)

talismanisland said:

I am talismanisland - or Talisman Island - or Jon New, talismanamsilat is Elliott Eastoe. We have been working on compiling the new FAQ but it needs FFG and John Goodenough to sort through it and check everything.

All answers we give here at the forums are unofficial unless they are quoted from the rules verbatim, but hopefully most will be adopted in the official FAQ when it is released.

(LOL!!! gran_risa.gif Double Team!)

Do you maybe know if FFG will include a FAQ in the Dungeon expansion.

I am sure that there are people in the world who are not visiting this website.

So they does not know how to deal with a lot of cards etc

cool.gif

According to Mr. Goodenough, no - you cannot use teleport in a blizzard because the wording is "instead of rolling a die for movement"

and in a blizzard you do not rule a die for movement, neither do you with the poltergeist or in the Inner Region.

See this thread:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/375317

BTW - funny story at the start of the thread... partido_risa.gif - reminds me of playing with me brothers many years ago...

Yes, that's right.

I remember now that he has said that.

Then this is settled forever.

You cannot use teleport and the elf warp ability if blizzard is in play, or having a poltergeist or under a slow motion spell.

aplauso.gif