Story Cards

By MinionOfProvidence, in CoC Rules Discussion

There are many story cards that state "Your Characters" such as the locked door which states "Each of your characters committed to this story gains an investigation icon" my question is does this apply only to you or does the ability shift to someone else once its there turn to commit.

According to the FAQ:

"Conspiracy cards are not considered to have a controller, so any instance of the word "you" or "your" refers to all players."

This means every turn, all the time. For example, the investigation bonus from The Locked Door would apply on both offense (when you commit) and defense (when your opponent commits to block you).

And I know of a lot of instances when this was played wrong. The good thing about this rule: You can include neutral conspiracies in decks that have cards that give you bonuses for controlling only cards of a certain faction like the Miskatonic Literature Professor. You should note however that if you control an insane character it also doesn't have a faction. Tricky, huh?

mischraum.de said:

The good thing about this rule: You can include neutral conspiracies in decks that have cards that give you bonuses for controlling only cards of a certain faction like the Miskatonic Literature Professor. You should note however that if you control an insane character it also doesn't have a faction. Tricky, huh?

Just to make sure everyone's on the same page: If you control any other neutral card type, you cannot use Literature Professor's Ability, because it says:

While every card you control has the [Miskatonic] affiliation …

Neutral cards don't have a faction, hence, if you control a neutral card, it doesn't have the Miskatonic faction.

It's fine, however, e.g. for Communal Shower:

Players cannot commit characters they control from different factions to the same story.

Since neutral cards do not have a faction you are not committing characters from a different faction if you commit them.

It has also been clarified previously ( www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp ), that adding a second faction to a card means you couldn't commit it since it now has a faction that is different from its own faction… are we confused yet? gui%C3%B1o.gif

I.e. for the sake of neutral cards it makes a difference if the condition is "while you don't control cards from a different faction" or if it's "while you only control cards from faction X", although superficially they seem to imply the same.

A similar discussion once involved Professor Lake: www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp