Bridge of Khazad-Dum

By Phodrum, in Rules questions & answers

Into the Pit

Bridge of Khazad-Dum states:

While Bridge of Khazad-Dum is the active location, players cannot play cards.

Question: I know this means I cannot play cards from my hand but does also it mean I cannot play cards already attached to a hero or exhaust an ally in play?

Thanks for any advice or help offered.

No

Playing cards is not using cards.

To "play" a card is to choose a card in your hand, pay its cost, and put it into play.

There is also a distinction between "play" (which happens as radiskull described) and "put into play." While the Bridge is active, for instance, you can't pay three Spirit resources to "play" Bofur from your hand during the planning phase. You CAN, however, spend a Spirit resource to "put Bofur into play" during the quest phase. Doing so does not count as "playing" a card, and thus is not prevented by the Bridge's effect.

Thank you for your help folks.