Cthulhu Ability/ Canopic Jar

By MinionOfProvidence, in CoC Rules Discussion

So Cthulhu's ability states that you drain a domain with three resources to make all opponents choose and sacrifice a character. Does this mean that if you have multiple domains with three you can drain them all? Basically can i trigger Cthulhu's ability more than once in a turn?

With Canopic Jar, it states you may take a character just destroyed and couple it with canopic jar. during the next turn you may use that characters ability without paying. My question is, can I use the characters ability if it's a response, for example: Deep one rising, when deep one rising comes into play, he destroys a non-ancient one character, can I use Canopic Jar on Deep One Rising and destroy a character?

MinionOfProvidence said:

So Cthulhu's ability states that you drain a domain with three resources to make all opponents choose and sacrifice a character. Does this mean that if you have multiple domains with three you can drain them all? Basically can i trigger Cthulhu's ability more than once in a turn?

Yes, you can use Cthulhu: Lord of R'lyeh's ability more than once per turn (depending on how many 3-resource domains you have).

Unless an action says exhaust, has a stated limit per turn, or some other cost that limits its use, it can be used more than once per turn.

Much thanks

i was pretty sure but the ability its such a brutal one that the clarification was needed for more skeptical opponents (AKA sore losers).

MinionOfProvidence said:

So Cthulhu's ability states that you drain a domain with three resources to make all opponents choose and sacrifice a character . Does this mean that if you have multiple domains with three you can drain them all? Basically can i trigger Cthulhu's ability more than once in a turn?

With Canopic Jar, it states you may take a character just destroyed and couple it with canopic jar. during the next turn you may use that characters ability without paying. My question is, can I use the characters ability if it's a response, for example: Deep one rising, when deep one rising comes into play, he destroys a non-ancient one character, can I use Canopic Jar on Deep One Rising and destroy a character?

Please keep in mind that "Sacrifice" and "Destroy" are not the same. Take a look at section 2.26 of the FAQ:

(2.26) Sacrifice, Destroy, Discard
from Play

“Sacrifice”, “Destroy” and “Discard from Play” are not interchangeable terms. Thus, a card that is “destroyed” is not considered to be “sacrificed,” and vice versa.

Up

Still needs answer to more complicated question. Let me rephrase it "what does Canopic Jar do?" because its description seems really weird considering this games timing structure.

When i have character attached i can use response to trigger its ability. I guess it means triggered ability only, no passive. I guess you can trigger normal ability (but on response slot? to any event?) Can u tigger disrupt ability? Jar is a response not a disrupt…

This card could benefit greatly from per card FAQ [i really think this idea needs more support]

Canopic Jar has errata in the FAQ:

The second ability should be a passive not a Response, and should read: "You may exhaust Canopic Jar and discard a card attached to it to trigger that card's ability without paying any cost."

I emailed Damon regarding the other questions about Canopic Jar. We'll see what he says.

as for deep one rising, its my understanding (which could be wrong), that no, you could not destroy a character with canopic jar.

yes, you could trigger its ability, but as it does not enter play, the rest of the text is disregarded.

I emailed this question to Damon. We'll see what he says.

I'm of the opinion that you can't trigger DOR's ability either with Canopic Jar. It has an associated condition (When it enters play) that has to be met. Of course, I don't know how that's really any different from Walk The Path in that regard…

The difference between Walk the Path and Canopic Jar is that one copies the effect of a card the other triggers that cards effect. Copying the effect is just that it ignores restrictions to trigger that copied cards effect because you are not triggering it at all. Triggering a cards effect, even by another card, still forces the players to follow all restrictions and unless otherwise stated, pay all costs.

That reasoning is solid. I appreciate the quick feedback, as I don't have access to cardgamedb at work, and I couldn't remember Walk The Path's wording off the top of my head.