A Funny Thing Happened on the way to the Crown of Command

By lonely_writer, in Talisman Rules Questions

Good morning all…it's been a long time since I posted on here. Played four rather entertaining games of Talisman on the weekend (oh Mr.Reaper - why do you hate me so?) and was pondering a few things that came up in game.

1) When is psychic combat with the Dark Fey, she rolls two dice for her attack roll and uses the higher result, but on double 1's you are turned into a toad. Does the toad still have to fight the Dark Fey?

2) The poisoned dagger lets you roll an additional die and add the result to your attack score if you roll a 1 for battle. Now I assume you can only do this once, but I just want to clarify. You cannot keep rolling a die and adding it to your attack score if that die roll keeps coming up as 1, can you? Pretty sure I already know the answer to this but it never hurts to be certain.

3) Do Magic Objects count as Objects, and in what context? For example - I beat the trcikster in battle and it says I may take an object of my choice from any character in the same region. What do I do if the characters only have magic objects? The whirlwind forces you do roll a die for each object you are carrying…so do you have to roll for magic objects as well? I am sure this has been dealt with before but humor me…I'll send you on a warlock quest if you can tell me the answer.

Cheers everyone!

lonely_writer said:

Good morning all…it's been a long time since I posted on here. Played four rather entertaining games of Talisman on the weekend (oh Mr.Reaper - why do you hate me so?) and was pondering a few things that came up in game.

1) When is psychic combat with the Dark Fey, she rolls two dice for her attack roll and uses the higher result, but on double 1's you are turned into a toad. Does the toad still have to fight the Dark Fey?

2) The poisoned dagger lets you roll an additional die and add the result to your attack score if you roll a 1 for battle. Now I assume you can only do this once, but I just want to clarify. You cannot keep rolling a die and adding it to your attack score if that die roll keeps coming up as 1, can you? Pretty sure I already know the answer to this but it never hurts to be certain.

3) Do Magic Objects count as Objects, and in what context? For example - I beat the trcikster in battle and it says I may take an object of my choice from any character in the same region. What do I do if the characters only have magic objects? The whirlwind forces you do roll a die for each object you are carrying…so do you have to roll for magic objects as well? I am sure this has been dealt with before but humor me…I'll send you on a warlock quest if you can tell me the answer.

Cheers everyone!

1) You fight the Dark Fey in psychic combat. If she rolls doubles, you are turned into a Toad for 3 turns regardless of the result of the psychic combat. (You still determine the result of the psychic combat. Therefore you could still lose a life and be turned into a Toad at the same time!)

2) Only once per battle.

3) Yes Magic Objects are considered Objects (page 12 in the rulebook under 'Objects').

Ell.

Thanks for the quick response.

Looking forward to the next game - hopefully we will be getting a couple of new players.