Questions on Claiming Rewards and the Cursed by a Hag card

By shockwave002, in Talisman Rules Questions

I'm new to Talisman and a couple of questions came up during play. I couldn't find the answer on the forms so I'm starting a new thread.

So during the last game, Player A moved to a space, encountered an enemy, and failed the battle. Thus player A and the enemy were still on the same space. By the next turn, Player B moved to that same space and chose to encounter Player A instead of the space. Player B kills Player A. Player A had 2 items and a Cursed by a Hag follower. So my questions are:

1. Does Player A have to encounter the enemy on the space (or land on that space and then encounter the enemy) before picking up the items?

2. Does Player A have to pickup the Cursed by a Hag follower? The Cursed by a Hag card states that you must take her as a follower but the rules state that you optionally can pick up any gold, followers, or items.

shockwave002 said:

I'm new to Talisman and a couple of questions came up during play. I couldn't find the answer on the forms so I'm starting a new thread.

So during the last game, Player A moved to a space, encountered an enemy, and failed the battle. Thus player A and the enemy were still on the same space. By the next turn, Player B moved to that same space and chose to encounter Player A instead of the space. Player B kills Player A. Player A had 2 items and a Cursed by a Hag follower. So my questions are:

1. Does Player A have to encounter the enemy on the space (or land on that space and then encounter the enemy) before picking up the items?

2. Does Player A have to pickup the Cursed by a Hag follower? The Cursed by a Hag card states that you must take her as a follower but the rules state that you optionally can pick up any gold, followers, or items.

1. Player B chose to encounter player A, so he does not encounter the space (or any cards on it). You choose to encounter a player or the space!

2. Player B killed player A and he may choose to take any of Player A's possessions. He does not have to take the Follower 'Cursed by a Hag'. Once player B has chosen what to take, the remaining items are left faceup on the space, including 'Cursed by a Hag'!

Regards,

Ell.

I'm not following now, if Player A chooses to take a life after defeating player B I'm pretty sure he can't take any of his possessions as well. Is there an exception if the character is killed…? We always play with the optional rule of inheriting all your possessions so we haven't been in this situation.

I used the word 'killed' deliberately. i.e. reduce a character's lives to zero. Then a character may take all of the character's possessions, UNLESS you are playing the Inherit Rule!

Regards,

Ell.