Under "Spell Targets" in the Talisman FAQ it states, "Characters cannot cast Spells unless the Spells have a valid target. Characters may not discard spells just to get rid of them.
The Alchemy Spell states, "Cast at the start of your turn, before you move. Convert any number of objects you have into gold. Discard the chosen and Objects and gain 1 gold for each." Zero is a number. Is it permissible to cast the Alchemy Spell on zero objects?
So also the Healing Spell states, "Cast as required. By casting it on yourself or any other character the recipient is healed up to his life value." If a character is at or above his life value, casting this spell on him would mean that he receives no additional lives. It's the same as visiting the Healer or the Chapel (characters of Good alignment) or the Castle with the Prince or Princess while having the full complement of lives, is it not?
Would these be two instances where a spell may indeed be cast according to the wording of the cards without having any actual effect?