The unofficial FAQ states: "You control any attachments on characters you control regardless of who played the card (unless it came from the encounter deck)."
Is that correct? So, if I play Born Aloft on another player's Gandalf, the other player gains control of Born Aloft. And when discarded, Born Aloft goes into that other player's discard pile.
Does anyone know where the unofficial FAQ got this? I don't see a citation and can't find mention in the rulebook/official FAQ. I had previously been playing different. I was assuming that the player who plays an attachment retains control of that attachment, regardless of which player's character gets it. That means if I played Born Aloft on a neighbor's Gandalf, I would have to choose when to discard Born aloft, and once discarded, it will go into my discard pile and not my neighbor's. This has implications for the use of a card like the Ereborn Hammersmith.
Now, the text of Born Aloft says: "Action: Discard Born Aloft from play to return attached ally to its owner's hand." If the unofficial FAQ is accurate, the player who is controlling Born Aloft will always be in control (i.e., be "the owner") of the ally it is attached to. So this card COULD simply say "return attached ally to YOUR hand"). Instead, the card says "its owner's hand," which suggests to me that there could be a difference between the controller of Born Aloft and the controller (owner) of the ally it is attached to. And this supports my interpretation: you retain control of attachments that you play, regardless of who controls the ally that they are played on.
Is there an official ruling on this?
Also, what would happen if you put Born Aloft on an encounter deck ally like Grimbeorn? When Grimbeorn is paid for, he "joins" a player as an ally and (as I understand it) is not "owned" by that player. If you attach Born Aloft and discard it, Grimbeorn can't return to a "hand" because the encounter deck has no hand. And he can't "return" to a player hand because he was never there to begin with. Help!
Thanks!
GS