Sage Question from the FAQ

By Toothless_Night_Fury, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi guys,

Taken directly from the FAQ:

Q: If the Sage gains a Spell at the start of his turn, can he cast that Spell during the same turn?

A: Yes.

I completely disagree with this answer. The rules state that:

'The maximum number of Spells that a character may cast during his turn is equal to the number of Spells he had at the start of that turn.'

The Sage character states that:

'If you do not have any Spells at the start of your turn, you may gain 1 Spell.'

This clearly means that the Sage cannot cast the Spell, as he only gained the Spell because he did not have any at the start of his turn!

The FAQ ruling is wrong. The rules confirm this to be so. I have no idea why FFG thought it was necessary to override the rules.

Regards,

Elliott.

This is especially relevant, as the Genie and Illusionist also gain Spells at the start of their turn if they do not have any (in my revised edition of the Mephisto Characters)!

Ell.

The rule is just fine gui%C3%B1o.gif

The sage can cast the spell that he get in his turn, otherwise he need to wait to cast it in his opponent turn or his next turn. That would be a heavy penalty for his ability.

The warlock can do the same. He can cast all three spells (if able) in his turn

You can change your Genie or illusionist anytime Elliot lengua.gif

You may well think it is a penalty not being able to cast the Spells immediately, but the rules that are written prohibit the Sage or Warlock from casting the Spells they gain according to their ability. The FAQ cannot and should not override actual rules that already exist. The Genie and Illusionist are set in stone now I'm afraid Velhart lol Hope you are well this Easter holiday?!

Regards,

Elliott.

talismanamsilat said:

Hi guys,

Taken directly from the FAQ:

Q: If the Sage gains a Spell at the start of his turn, can he cast that Spell during the same turn?

A: Yes.

I completely disagree with this answer. The rules state that:

'The maximum number of Spells that a character may cast during his turn is equal to the number of Spells he had at the start of that turn.'

The Sage character states that:

'If you do not have any Spells at the start of your turn, you may gain 1 Spell.'

This clearly means that the Sage cannot cast the Spell, as he only gained the Spell because he did not have any at the start of his turn!

The FAQ ruling is wrong. The rules confirm this to be so. I have no idea why FFG thought it was necessary to override the rules.

Regards,

Elliott.

Hi Elliott!

Maybe I am rulelawyering a litte, but according to FAQ:

Simultaneous Effects
If two or more abilities or effects are triggered at the same
time, the player who is currently taking his turn decides the
order to resolve them in.

He can do that. At the start of his turn two effects trigger:

- Gain a Spell, if you don't have any

- You may cast during the following turn that amount of Spells you start the turn with.

Sage may decide which effect to encounter as first. If he will decide the first one and then the second one, he will be able to cast the Spell he got (firstly he gained the Spell, and then the turn checked how many Spells he has - 1 - and allows him to cast 1 Spell).

If he will decide to encounter the second one and then the first one, he won't be able to cast the Spell (because firstly the turn checked how many Spells he had and set his casting possibilities to 0, and then he gained a Spell).

===

This is how I see this.

I agree with Nemomom.

But I see it like this:

The start of the turn is going on until the character decides to start the movement (in most cases at least). This means that the turn is not completely started before the Sage takes the spell. Then, when that is done, the number of spells the Sage started the turn with is calculated.

This is still not clear, but I think this way would make the game both more fun and balanced.

The question is: when I consider started the turn?

First recover all you spell you can, then start your turn.

This way you avoid to launch an infinite number of spells, but some characters can always launch at least one spell, like the prophetess.

In the same vein, it would also mean that a player who starts with some spells will not be able to cast them right away.

Special Ability vs. Rules

'In any instance where a special ability or effect is at a variance with the basic rules, the special ability or effect always overrides the rules.'

This rule sorts out this particular problem with the Sage and Warlock. Therefore they may gain Spells at the start of their turn and still cast them during the same turn. Also confirmed by another ruling in the FAQ for simultaneous effects!

Ell.