Impassable Bog...timing question

By lexlloyd, in Rules questions & answers

I apologize if this has been addressed...the search button on my screen doesn't seem to work.

Impassable Bog includes a "when revealed" effect instructing me to put a resource token on gollum for each location in the staging area. Does the newly-drawn Impassable Bog count as one of those locations?

I suggest that the placing of this location into staging occurs simultaneously with the "when revealed" effect...and thus the player gets to choose which to resolve first. Am I mistaken?

IB doesn't count itself for its When Revealed, so if there no locations in the staging area, Gollum gets 0 tokens, then IB got into the staging area.

I would argue that it does - the location is in the staging area when the WR is triggered, so it would count itself.

ive always played it as the when revealed triggers the moment it is revealed and yet to be placed in the stagin area- now im not saying that is techincally correct, but its just the way ive been ruling it

Apparently this was already answered by Nate. From the thread over at cardgamedb ( http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/index.php?/topic/1702-official-nate-rule-clarifications-updated-27012012/page__p__4136#entry4136 ):

Question Submitted by "guciomir @ FFG"

Q:- The impassable bog reads: when revelead, add 1 token to gollum for every location in the staging area. When this text is triggered, is the just-revealed Bog considered in the staging area? In other words, does the Bog count itself as a location in the staging area?

A: - Encounter cards are revealed from the encounter deck, their "When Revealed" effects are resolved, and the card is then placed in the staging area. So the Bog has not yet entered the staging area when its effects resolve.

---

So, according to Nate, the Bog does NOT count itself.

holy fish sticks- i got one right.......... lengua.gif so thats won 2 lost 50........haha

I had to dig up the ruling for a thread over on BGG this weekend, so I remembered this much at least.

Thanks to everyone who replied! Rich I laughed out loud at your second post :)

its soo true though haha

Well, that makes sense then. :) I don't mind being wrong if it is for something that is sensible.

this was answered by nate, when revealed effects occur before it is placed on the table.. so the way it works for this card and ALL staging area cards is that teh effects triggers on the cards that are already in play.. not the current card.

So imaging a arrow pointing backward form the card your draw... not including the drawn card... it will effect everything under that arrow. This DOSE include cards revealed in turn.. so in a 3 player game if bog is drawn as the 2nd card drawn (you draw 3 each quest phase in a 3 player game) then the effect will only effect those behind it.. so c1, c2, c3 and new card 1, but not itself or new card 3

<-----------------------xxxxxxxxxx

C1, C2, C3, NC1, NC2, NC3

7775589.png