Stories about a died hero...

By Fresy, in Rules questions & answers

Some days ago, playng with a friend, has happen something that gave us some doubts.

A hero of mine was dead, so was in the discard pile, after some turns, the friend plays Will of the West (Choose a player. Shuffle that player's discard pile back into his deck. )... What will happens to my hero?

Thanks in advance for your help.

PS: Excuse me for my bad english preocupado.gif

hi

self edit: you never reshuffle heros from the discard pile

rich

Fresy said:

Some days ago, playng with a friend, has happen something that gave us some doubts.

A hero of mine was dead, so was in the discard pile, after some turns, the friend plays Will of the West (Choose a player. Shuffle that player's discard pile back into his deck. )... What will happens to my hero?

Thanks in advance for your help.

PS: Excuse me for my bad english preocupado.gif

YOu cannot reshuffle heroes in your draw deck.Hero cards will stay in discard pile.

i would like to ask about this- ive always just put heros in their own discard pile, i didnt realise they went into the same one- im guessing my way of playing doest really make a diiference, as the hero never moves from either pile anyways?

This is what I do as well.

richsabre said:

i would like to ask about this- ive always just put heros in their own discard pile, i didnt realise they went into the same one- im guessing my way of playing doest really make a diiference, as the hero never moves from either pile anyways?

Yeah, I can't see a reason why it would really matter. Perhaps just to consolidate table space? Also, I guess there's a tiny chance you might forget about a hero buried in your discard pile (that would take a monumental degree of absentmindedness, though).

In general, though, I don't think it makes a difference. For the sake of formality, here's the relevant rules text addressing the original question (p. 20 of the rule book):

"Note that hero cards that are defeated are placed in their owner’s discard pile. When resolving effects that move cards from a player’s discard pile to his hand or deck, hero cards in the discard pile are ignored, as hero cards cannot move to a player’s hand or deck."

starhawk77 said:

richsabre said:

i would like to ask about this- ive always just put heros in their own discard pile, i didnt realise they went into the same one- im guessing my way of playing doest really make a diiference, as the hero never moves from either pile anyways?

Yeah, I can't see a reason why it would really matter. Perhaps just to consolidate table space? Also, I guess there's a tiny chance you might forget about a hero buried in your discard pile (that would take a monumental degree of absentmindedness, though).

let me introduce you to me haha....though seriously thanks for clearing that one up, thought i was making an epic mistake in the rules at first

Really thanks at all happy.gif

There is a Spirit card that allows you to play a Hero from your discard pile. I assume this is why it matters.

On that note, can you put Heroes in your starting deck, and then discard them to use that care and get like 5-6 heroes in play?

No, you can't include heroes in your player deck.

Page 8 of the rules notes that all heroes "start the game in play," and p.9 establishes that player decks are comprised of "ally, attachment, and event cards."

Just had this question the other day! Thanks for clearing it all up before I even asked!