Arcane Archive and the Sprite - Can I keep selling spells during the same turn?

By Demarki, in Talisman Rules Questions

Arcane Archive

The Archive will remain here for the rest of the game. You may either discard any number of Spells you have and gain 1 gold for each, or buy 1 Spell for 1 gold, if your Craft allows. You may only buy 1 Spell per visit.

What happens if a character that can replenish Spells lands on a square with that card? Let take the Sprite for example that has the ability "During the game, you always have at least 2 Spells. (Whenever casting a Spell reduces your total to less than 2, draw another Spell immediately to replace it). "

Let's say that I choose to sell my current 2 spells, do I get 2 new ones immediatelly? If yes, can I choose to sell them again for another 2 gold or is there a rule that doesn't allow me to keep selling spells during the same turn?

Demarki said:

Arcane Archive

The Archive will remain here for the rest of the game. You may either discard any number of Spells you have and gain 1 gold for each, or buy 1 Spell for 1 gold, if your Craft allows. You may only buy 1 Spell per visit.

What happens if a character that can replenish Spells lands on a square with that card? Let take the Sprite for example that has the ability "During the game, you always have at least 2 Spells. (Whenever casting a Spell reduces your total to less than 2, draw another Spell immediately to replace it). "

Let's say that I choose to sell my current 2 spells, do I get 2 new ones immediatelly? If yes, can I choose to sell them again for another 2 gold or is there a rule that doesn't allow me to keep selling spells during the same turn?

If you sell your 2 spells, then you get immediately 2 new spells.

However, you can't continue to keep drawing spells and selling them.

This is the way i see it, otherwise, characters such as the wizard, sprite and other spell casters could keep selling spell cards until they found the spell that they want. I think that this is not the meaning of the card.

We use this rule in our games when we draw the arcane archive

I agree with that. In my world you can only encounter a card once per turn, and extremely rarely two turns in a row.

Right off the bat I'd say "no" because those character's ability to replenish only works when they cast a spell. Selling them or losing them by any other means doesn't allow you to replenish.

I'm afraid Spell characters such as the Sprite, do replenish Spells immediately regardless of whether or not they cast or lose their Spells by other means.

Ell.

Demarki said:

Arcane Archive

The Archive will remain here for the rest of the game. You may either discard any number of Spells you have and gain 1 gold for each, or buy 1 Spell for 1 gold, if your Craft allows. You may only buy 1 Spell per visit.

What happens if a character that can replenish Spells lands on a square with that card? Let take the Sprite for example that has the ability "During the game, you always have at least 2 Spells. (Whenever casting a Spell reduces your total to less than 2, draw another Spell immediately to replace it). "

Let's say that I choose to sell my current 2 spells, do I get 2 new ones immediatelly? If yes, can I choose to sell them again for another 2 gold or is there a rule that doesn't allow me to keep selling spells during the same turn?

Example:

The Sprite who has a Counterspell and the Destroy Magic Spell lands on the Arcane Archive. She may either discard one of her Spells, both of her Spells, or buy 1 Spell, if her Craft allows. The Sprite decides to discard the Destroy Magic Spell and gains 1 gold. She then replenishes her Spell and her turn ends. The Sprite is not permitted to discard the Spell that she replenished, as she did not have that Spell at the time she encountered the Arcane Archive.

Elliott.