redhorn questions

By richsabre, in Rules questions & answers

1. after placing the 11th token on 2b and caradras becomes active -do those characters who just took part in the questing phase (being commited to the end of the phase) get discarded immeditatly if caradras drops their willpower to 0?

2.fell voices- if this returns 1 card from the discard pile to the top of the encounter deck and thus surges- this is basically re-bringing the card you just returned into the staging area right?

3.rockfall/landslide- cant remember its name exactly- but where it says you have to choose between discarding all progress tokens from play or add 2 card to the staging area- you can still chose to discard tokens even if there arent any play? and count yourself as lucky right?

thanks

richsabre said:

1. after placing the 11th token on 2b and caradras becomes active -do those characters who just took part in the questing phase (being commited to the end of the phase) get discarded immeditatly if caradras drops their willpower to 0?

2.fell voices- if this returns 1 card from the discard pile to the top of the encounter deck and thus surges- this is basically re-bringing the card you just returned into the staging area right?

3.rockfall/landslide- cant remember its name exactly- but where it says you have to choose between discarding all progress tokens from play or add 2 card to the staging area- you can still chose to discard tokens even if there arent any play? and count yourself as lucky right?

thanks

1. Yes

2. Yes

3. Yes

thanks......................................................

While on the topic:

- Do you select the order of the cards when Fell Voices resolve?

- Does Caradhras becomes the active location even if it was already in your victory display at the time you complete stage 2B?

SiCK_Boy said:

While on the topic:

- Do you select the order of the cards when Fell Voices resolve?

- Does Caradhras becomes the active location even if it was already in your victory display at the time you complete stage 2B?

1. Yes

2. must be

SiCK_Boy said:

While on the topic:

- Do you select the order of the cards when Fell Voices resolve?

- Does Caradhras becomes the active location even if it was already in your victory display at the time you complete stage 2B?

1. Yes. Fell Voices doesn't specify a particular order for the cards. Since they are all placed simultaneously, the players can choose which card to put on top.

2. I'd say yes, both from a thematic perspective and from a straight reading of the text. The effect on Stage 2B just says that Caradhras "becomes" the active location, seemingly irrespective of the mountain's current location on the board. We've also seen cards like the Dimrill Stair indicate that the victory display is not "off limits" for purposes of encounter card effects (although that card specifically references the display, while Stage 2B does not).

The other, perhaps less persuasive, argument would be thematic. The culmination of the scenario is clearly intended to be a struggle against Caradhras; it makes sense that the designers would force you to confront the mountain head on, rather than skirt around it. This argument is similar to the one I made regarding the final escape test in The Dead Marshes. Technically, Gollum is "captured" (and the players victorious) the instant that test is successful, even if he is not in play . However, that makes no sense; you clearly cannot "capture" Gollum if he isn't in play, even if the letter of the rules would apparently allow you to do so.

Making a similar connection here, it seems reasonable that a scenario centered around conquering Caradhras would require you to, well, climb the mountain. So, I think both card text and thematic considerations support the idea that Stage 2B's trigger will always wind up with Caradhras as the active location.