Tips for new players...

By adamwehn, in Twilight Imperium 3rd Edition

Priceless said:

Guys, i have one more question.

I'm sure that I think correctly. But it will be better if someone can confirm my opinion.

I have 2 Deadnoughts and my opponent have 1 Warsun. I make 2 hit to him, and Warsun is destroyed. But he also take 2 hits to me.

Can I divide hits on 2 Dreadnoughts or I must take both hits by 1 Dreadnought?

As far as I understand you can spread the hits between your two dreads.

Correct. The player taking hits have absolute freedom in choosing what ships takes which hit(s). Unless a card or ability states otherwise, like Anti-Fighter Barrage for instance.

Fnoffen said:

Correct. The player taking hits have absolute freedom in choosing what ships takes which hit(s). Unless a card or ability states otherwise, like Anti-Fighter Barrage for instance.

If someone plays Direct Hit! on another player and that player plays Emergency Repairs, does the direct hit still kill the target of the card?

adamwehn said:

Fnoffen said:

Correct. The player taking hits have absolute freedom in choosing what ships takes which hit(s). Unless a card or ability states otherwise, like Anti-Fighter Barrage for instance.

If someone plays Direct Hit! on another player and that player plays Emergency Repairs, does the direct hit still kill the target of the card?

One could say that it depends on who sits first in order of play. Base game rulebook, page 39 - left column, states:

"How to Play an Action Card
If a player wishes to play an Action Card, he must publicly announce that he wishes to play an Action Card. Then other players, at that time, may announce that they also wish to play an Action Card. After all players have been given the opportunity to announce that they are playing Action Cards, all the Action Cards are revealed and resolved in order of play."

In this specific case, however, I would imagine that the ER-playing player would probably not play the ER card if the DH card is not played. I would suggest a vote amongst the players not participating in the battle. Or sending in a rules query.

Fnoffen said:

adamwehn said:

Fnoffen said:

Correct. The player taking hits have absolute freedom in choosing what ships takes which hit(s). Unless a card or ability states otherwise, like Anti-Fighter Barrage for instance.

If someone plays Direct Hit! on another player and that player plays Emergency Repairs, does the direct hit still kill the target of the card?

One could say that it depends on who sits first in order of play. Base game rulebook, page 39 - left column, states:

"How to Play an Action Card
If a player wishes to play an Action Card, he must publicly announce that he wishes to play an Action Card. Then other players, at that time, may announce that they also wish to play an Action Card. After all players have been given the opportunity to announce that they are playing Action Cards, all the Action Cards are revealed and resolved in order of play."

In this specific case, however, I would imagine that the ER-playing player would probably not play the ER card if the DH card is not played. I would suggest a vote amongst the players not participating in the battle. Or sending in a rules query.

Thanks for the advice.

  • What is going on then Muaat player use his Nova Seed technology card to replace his system on to the Nova place? Does the Nova hex replace the system's place so they changed their places?
  • In a Twillight Imperium Living Rulebook I read that Jol-Nar player can spent 1 Command Counter from Strategy Allocation and receive one free technology by Primary Ability of Tecnology Strategy Card without buying technology for 8(6). Is it right?

Stasis Capsules

no...

STASIS CAPSULES - Cruisers and Dreadnoughts can carry one Ground Force

Just about all the twilight 3 rules are very short and to the point.

If it is not mentioned, you cannot do it.

In twilight rules or descriptions, any exceptions are listed in a description, like for example (All ships, except fighters)

In the Stasis Capsules rule, there is no need to talk about pds and fighters because stasis capsules is only about ground units.

Mentioning pds and fighters cannot be carried by stasis capsules is considered to be too wordy.

If the rule is in a grey area, it will be covered in the FAQ or Errata

Priceless said:

  • What is going on then Muaat player use his Nova Seed technology card to replace his system on to the Nova place? Does the Nova hex replace the system's place so they changed their places?
  • In a Twillight Imperium Living Rulebook I read that Jol-Nar player can spent 1 Command Counter from Strategy Allocation and receive one free technology by Primary Ability of Tecnology Strategy Card without buying technology for 8(6). Is it right?

When using the Nova Seed, the Muaat player transforms the chosen system into a super nova by simply placing the special Muaat Super Nova tile on top of it (or replacing it if you feel like fidgeting around a bit with the board), first removing any remaining Domain Counters from the chosen system. The Muaat player's unit(s), however, remain inside the super nova.

About the Jol-Nar getting one tech for free via primary when they use the secondary of the Tech SC: Yes they get it even if they don't buy one for 8(6) resources.

Suggest you read the official FAQ.

[EDIT: removed double post]

The android compatibility to these forums is slim to none...

Thank you, guys.

I dont have any more questions.

EDIT: Seems this was already answered on page 2. Not too big of a frequenter of these forums and missed this thread was multiple pages. Sorry bout that.

BigKahuna said:

...snip

2) Then all players create a galactic map, can they put a system piece at any place, or only at adjacent system?

For example: 1st player put his system card to a 1st circle adjacent to Mecatol Rex. Can the second player put his card system at another side of Mecatol, not adjacent to the 1st player system?

The answer is yes you can. The only rule for galaxy building is that you must finish the ring you are currently working on. So first you build the inner ring, than the outer ring and finally the third ring. You also must alternate planets and empty systems (aka if you place a planet this time, you must place an empty system next time, unless you have no other kind of card) . Also you cannot join red tile systems together (they can't be adjecent, unless in the final round you have no where else to place it).

...snip

The Bolded part of your answer isn't correct. The rule is if you place an empty system (system with no planets) then you must place a system with planets on your next time. This does not apply the other way around. So you could place a system with planets, followed by a system with planets. No restriction on that. You just can't place an empty system then another empty system unless you have no choice (in which case you have to reveal the rest of your system tiles to prove that is so.