For followers which have a negative impact on a player (Poltergeist) there are specific rules on their cards which state how you can get rid of them. for example, on the Poltergeist, the card states that you can only rid yourself of it by crossing the river, either by bridge, raft or ferry. When the Reaper lands on you and you roll a 2, does this kill the Poltergeist? I realize that the Poltergeist is from the base set and the Reaper was printed in the later (second) expansion for the 4th edition.
Reaper and Poltergeist
Looks like the Reaper (and Chasm, and Vampire's Tower, and Sorceress, and Mesmerism) may take the Poltergeist like any other Follower. I don't understand why they decided to turn these cards (Hag, Poltergeist, Jester) into Followers.
The_Warlock said:
Looks like the Reaper (and Chasm, and Vampire's Tower, and Sorceress, and Mesmerism) may take the Poltergeist like any other Follower. I don't understand why they decided to turn these cards (Hag, Poltergeist, Jester) into Followers.
And they still kept them numbered as Events, i.e. #1, while Followers are #5. Either or but not a mix.
I think it is possible, that the reaper can discard the poltergeist.
You can't discard the poltergeist yourself, unless you cross the river etc ( same as always)
If you take for a example the hag. You can only get rid of her if you visit the mystic. I think that the reaper can discard her too !
I think it don't matter what for follower it is. The reaper can discard any follower.
So you can thank the reaper afterwards
Keep in mind that Order numbers are not always assigned by card Type or subtype. It may seem that way in general, but there have been exceptions in all past Talisman editions where a particular Follower (or other card type) has special considerations... like those mentioned. Don't equated card type to order number, as that association has never been fully accurate.
Hag and Poltergeist can now die in the Chasm, Temple, Vampire Tower etc. then.
Oh, you already said that. How to erase messages here?
Rimmer said:
Hag and Poltergeist can now die in the Chasm, Temple, Vampire Tower etc. then.
Oh, you already said that. How to erase messages here?
Unfortunately you can't delete posts here. You may modify the text for a short time after posting.
The important difference is: Hag and Poltergeist are subject to any game effect that affects Followers (Chasm, Sorceress' Beguile, Mesmerism, Werewolf) but can't be sacrificed to gain a benefit. You may not discard them in the Vampire's Tower or to complete a Warlock's Quest. The only way to get rid of 'em is to follow the procedure on the Cards, or have them killed somehow (Chasm is the better option, especially for the Hag if you receive the Curse in the Middle Region).
The_Warlock said:
I see no reason to make such a distinction. If the Hag can become a Werewolf or die in the Chasm, why won't the Vampire eat her? I really think a player should be allowed to use such mechanisms as a way to get rid of unwanted followers. After all, in this edition, they ARE followers.
Lubricus said:
I see no reason to make such a distinction. If the Hag can become a Werewolf or die in the Chasm, why won't the Vampire eat her? I really think a player should be allowed to use such mechanisms as a way to get rid of unwanted followers. After all, in this edition, they ARE followers.
This is what you think and no problem with it.
Just want to point out that mine was not a proposal, but what has been officially clarified about these Followers so far.
Have a look here: new.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp I hope this will be included in the upcoming FAQ.