Can you both Focus and be Assisted on the same roll?

By Cromulent, in Elder Sign

The FAQ says "No, only one or the other."

My question is, if there are two investigators on an adventure, can you:

-roll and fail to meet a task, Focus a die, then discard a die for failing to meet any tasks

-roll a second time and fail to meet a task, Assist a die, and then discard a die for failing?

Thanks!

Yup, you can totally do that. The FAQ just means you can't both focus and be assisted on the very same roll.

ie: you can't roll the dice, fail the task, focus a die, assist a die, and lose a die as a penalty for failing.

But as long as a die is lost between rolls, you can both focus and assist during the same adventure, even on the same task.

Thanks! That's what I figured after reading the rules. Then when I read that in the FAQ it made me question myself.

If that wasn't the case, then I don't see why you would ever want to assist, seeing as you are putting your fellow investigator's stamina/sanity at risk. The only time I can figure assisting to be useful is in the situation I described in my original post. Has anyone else found a use for locking down a die with Assist?

Well, remember, you can only Focus once per turn. Once you've Focused once, Assisting is your only option.

That be a valid point Walk, thank you.