Multiple versions of unique card vs 3 card limit.

By DragonsDragonsDragons, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Hi, I'm new to the game and am thinking about grabbing some expansions to start building my own decks.

My question is: does having multiple versions of unique cards cost against the 3 card limit?

For example: I have the starter set with 2x Rhaegal, and I want to get the Queen of Dragons expansion which contains a different version of Rhaegal x3.

Can I run all 5 of these because Rhaegal in core set is different from Queen of Dragons, or am I limited to only 3x because these cards have the same name, therefore they are the same card and cost against the card limit?

(As you can tell from my name I am a fan of Targaryen House so I'm giving the example here, but I think it would work similarly with Caitlyn Stark and others)

If this isn't clear I can try clarifying.

Thanks!

Also, does anyone know of people around UB who play because the one person I know who likes this game is graduating, so next semester if I want to play I need other people. (I'd also like to try out some of the other play styles but I don't know enough people)

You can only run 3 of each named card. So only 3 Rhaegals. However you can run them in any combination.

Using Melisandre as the example, there are currently 3 different Mel's so you could run 3 the same, 1 of each, 2 of one + 1 of another but only 3 total.

Whizzwang said:

You can only run 3 of each named card. So only 3 Rhaegals. However you can run them in any combination.

Using Melisandre as the example, there are currently 3 different Mel's so you could run 3 the same, 1 of each, 2 of one + 1 of another but only 3 total.

Note that this holds true even if the cards are of different types. There's Grey Wind the character in the Core Set, and Grey Wind the attachment in Lords of Winter. Still you can only run three Grey Winds - three copies of the character OR three copies of the attachment or some combnation, but never more than three cards in total. If you run both the character and the attachment version, the character can be played as a dupe on the attachment and vice versa.

Ok, thanks. This answered my question, but was this discussed in the rules and I just missed it?

Simply put, the "3 cards per deck" limit is measured by card title, nothing else. You can only have 3 cards with the same title in any deck.

It is discussed in the rules, but doesn't use the "3 cards by title" wording. The FAQ does specifically say "3 cards by title," though.

Ok, thanks. I must be blind then because I missed it in the FAQ.

Page 10:

" (4.8) Card Title
A player may only include up to 3 copies of a
card with the same title in his or her draw deck
regardless of card type. This restriction does
not include the usage of plot cards."