Expertise in enemy creatures.

By Swags, in WFRP Rules Questions

The rule states that expertise dice can be applied to any sort of check but that only 1 expertise dice can be rolled. If this is true then why do enemies have an expertise higher than 1? Is A/C/E a limited pool? So If I use 1 expertise to swing at one of the PCs and the creature only has 1 expertise have I exhausted the expertise dice for that particular creature?

One more question really quick here. If a creature has a white box next to a particular stat does that mean I add a fortune to the pool when I perform a check for that stat? What is the purpose of those boxes.

I find the system interesting but there have got to the worst organized rule books I have ever come across.

The A/C/E system works like a pool of resources for a creature or NPC to draw from. It does not replenish between rounds. It is there as a way to represent a NPC's background and training much like skills exist for PC's - NPC's don't have skills etc listed but can draw from their A/C/E pool to represent inherent or trained abilities. Once they have gone through the pool it is gone. Some GM's choose to use this pool sparingly whilst others burn it quickly depending on how long that NPC will survive in the combat, how aggressive / conservative the creature is, etc.

A white symbol next to a particular stat means that one fortune / white is added to any test derived from that stat automatically (with dice from the A/C/E pool being used in addition to this).

Sorry if this is unclear.

Alp