Special Research Order

By cyb3k, in StarCraft

I couldn't find any firm answer in rulesbook, so i post this question here:

Is purhasing technology obligatory to draw additional, 2nd Event card during this order?

After studying descripion of Research order in rulesbook I think it is possible (and powerfull) to execute the order in this way:

1) Draw Event Card (required)

2) Draw 3 Comabt Cards (optional)

3) Purhase technology (optional)

4) Draw another Event Card (optional)

However, some people who play SC with me state it's not true and it would make the order even too powerfull. For me, it's balanced ability, but buying technology each time makes it really hard to exploit efficiently.

Buying technology is entirely optional, in every situation. So get 3 combat cards and 2 event cards is completely legal.

The reasoning of my gamemates comes from an example situation in rulesbook:

"Example: The Arcturus Mengsk player is executing a special Research order. (...) he decides to purchase the “Spider Mines” technology. He pays its resource cost (1 mineral and 1 gas) and takes both “Spider Mines” cards out of his Technology deck . At this point he must make a decision. He could either place one of the two “Spider Mines” cards directly into his hand and shuffle the other into his Combat deck, or instead draw an
additional Event card. "

I think the way it works is that if you buy a technology that gets shuffled into your combat deck then you have the choice as to either shuffle the cards into you deck and draw a 2nd event card, or to take one of the new technology cards into your hand and shuffle the rest into your combat deck.

If you don't by a technology or you buy a technology that gets placed into your play area, then you would also draw a 2nd event card.

I'm not usually a fan of running up the game clock (drawing a lot of event cards in one turn) so I only like to use the Special Research if I know I'm going to buy a tech that would put a technology card into my hand. Otherwise I try to stick with the standard research orders.

Well, you make that decision as well. You get two event cards, because you CAN'T take the other option. That does not mean you have to buy a tech.

Another quote, which makes me doubtfull:

" The active player must choose one or the other of these additional capabilities after resolving the capabilities of a standard Research order (but before placing any acquired Technology cards into the Combat deck) ."

This may indicate the time of executing as well as the condition...

I would really like to be sure how to use this order properly, but I can't because of such imprecise rules.

I think this reply will be suprising for most SC players. It looks that my gamemates are right:

" Rule Question:

When executing Special Research order, is player allowed to draw the additional (2nd) event card also, if he hasn't bought any technology?

The player may only draw the additional card after resolving the capabilities of the order token (and purchasing technology).

I hope that this answers your question!
-Corey Konieczka
Fantasy Flight Games
Design and Development"

So that you have to execute SRO in such way:

  1. Draw one event card (required)
  2. Draw 3 combat cards (optional)
  3. Purhase one technology (optional)
  4. Resolve one of special order abilities (if you executed step 3.)

Thank you again Corey for your response.

That rule has been misinterpreted very often.

cyb3k said:

So that you have to execute SRO in such way:

  1. Draw one event card (required)
  2. Draw 3 combat cards (optional)
  3. Purhase one technology (optional)
  4. Resolve one of special order abilities (if you executed step 3.)

Thank you again Corey for your response.

That rule has been misinterpreted very often.

i don't undersatnd now -.-

Then i can't draw the 2nd Event cart if i don't buy one technology ?

Fifagi said:

Then i can't draw the 2nd Event cart if i don't buy one technology ?

That was my question. As you can read, you must purchase some technology.

Note that now each special order requires something from player to use its special abilities:

mobilize --> attacking

build --> constructing units and/or upgrading base

research ---> purchasing new technology

cyb3k said:

Fifagi said:

Then i can't draw the 2nd Event cart if i don't buy one technology ?

That was my question. As you can read, you must purchase some technology.

Note that now each special order requires something from player to use its special abilities:

mobilize --> attacking

build --> constructing units and/or upgrading base

research ---> purchasing new technology

i'm not sure that it' s ok...

It doesn't sound right sad.gif

According to the reference sheet of the original (nothing changed w/ Brood War), it says either you take a 2nd event card or you may keep a tech card . Of course if Corey says otherwise that's fine.

It's like if the "primary ability" would always allow you to take a 2nd event card ; but if ever it happens that, not only you buy a technology but also it is a combat card, you may swith that ability with the "secondary ability" that being to keep a tech combat card in your hand.

That's how it was interpreted. Just because of wrong choice of words in rulesbook.

But if you read very carefully (see reply #2 and #5), you will find out that there is no direct answer if it's allowed.

For me, it seems to be right, fair and logical (reply #8).

cyb3k said:

The reasoning of my gamemates comes from an example situation in rulesbook:

" At this point he must make a decision. He could either place one of the two “Spider Mines” cards directly into his hand and shuffle the other into his Combat deck, or instead draw an
additional Event card. "

it's Simple:

OR buy teh 2 "Simple Mines" AND put one of this into his and

OR draw an additional Event card (but don't buy Spides Mines)